1989 No. 119

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The District of South Staffordshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1989

Made - - - 30th January 1989

Coming into force in accordance with article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 51(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 30th November 1987 submitted to me proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the District of South Staffordshire;

And whereas in giving effect to those proposals I have decided to make certain modifications;

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 51(2) and 67 of that Act, I hereby make the following Order:—

- 1. This Order may be cited as the District of South Staffordshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1989.
- 2.—(1) Subject to paragraph (2) below, this Order shall come into force on the ordinary day of election of councillors (within the meaning of section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(b)) in 1991 except that, for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day, it shall come into force on 10th October 1990.
 - (2) The provisions of this Order, in so far as they concern—
 - (a) the abolition of the existing Perton ward, and
- (b) the Perton Central and Perton Dippons wards, as constituted by this Order, together with article 5 below, shall come into force on 4th May 1989 except that, for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day, they shall come into force forthwith.
- 3.—(1) The map referred to in this Order is the map marked "MAP REFERRED TO IN THE DISTRICT OF SOUTH STAFFORDSHIRE (ELECTORAL ARRANGEMENTS) ORDER 1989" and deposited with the Secretary of State.
- (2) Copies of the map, marked "COPY OF THE MAP REFERRED TO IN THE DISTRICT OF SOUTH STAFFORDSHIRE (ELECTORAL ARRANGEMENTS) ORDER 1989" shall be deposited with the council of the District of South Staffordshire and with the Director General of the Ordnance Survey and such copies shall, at all reasonable times, be open to inspection by any person.
- (3) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway, or other similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line thereof.

⁽a) 1972 c.70.

⁽b) 1983 c.2.

- 4.—(1) The existing wards of the District of South Staffordshire shall be abolished and that District shall be divided into twenty-six wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward, and demarcated by red lines thereon.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward constituted by this Order shall be the number specified in column 2 of the Schedule to this Order opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.
- 5.—(1) Elections of district councillors for the Perton Central and Perton Dippons wards, as constituted by this Order, shall take place on 4th May 1989.
- (2) The district councillor for the existing Perton ward shall retire on 8th May 1989 and the newly elected district councillors for the Perton Central and Perton Dippons wards, as constituted by this Order, shall come into office on that day.
- (3) The term of office for the district councillors for the Perton Central and Perton Dippons wards elected at the elections which take place under paragraph (1) above shall be two years and the district councillors for those wards, as constituted by this Order, shall retire together on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors (within the meaning of section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983) in 1991.
- 6. The registration officer shall make such re-arrangement or alteration of the register of local electors as may be necessary on account of the coming into force of this Order.

Home Office 30th January 1989 Douglas Hurd
One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State

NAMES OF AND NUMBER OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW WARDS

l Name of new ward	2	
	Number of councillors	
Acton Trussel	1	
Bilbrook	2	•
Bishopswood and Lapley	2	
Brewood and Coven	3	
Cheslyn Hay	3	
Codsall North	2	
Codsall South	2	
Essington	2	
Featherstone	2	
Great Wyrley Landywood	2	
Great Wyrley Town	3	
Huntington	2	
Kinver	3	
Lower Penn	1	
Pattingham and Patshull	1	
Penkridge North East	1	
Penkridge South East	2	
Penkridge West	1	
Perton Central	3	
Perton Dippons	2	
Shareshill	1	
Swindon	1	
Trysull and Seisdon	1	
Wombourne North	2	
Wombourne South East	2	
Wombourne South West	3	