## STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 1989 No. 2210

## PREVENTION AND SUPPRESSION OF TERRORISM

The Suppression of Terrorism Act 1978 (Designation of Countries) Order 1989

Made - - - - 28th November 1989
Laid before Parliament 5th December 1989
Coming into force - - 7th December 1989

In exercise of the powers conferred upon me by section 8 of the Suppression of Terrorism Act 1978(1), I hereby make the following Order:

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Suppression of Terrorism Act 1978 (Designation of Countries) Order 1989 and shall come into force on 7th December 1989.
- **2.** The Republic of Ireland is hereby designated as a party to the European Convention on the Suppression of Terrorism(**2**) signed at Strasbourg on 27th January 1977.

David Waddington
One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of
State, Home Office

28th November 1989

<sup>(1) 1978</sup> c. 26.

<sup>(2)</sup> Cmnd. 7390.

## **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order designates the Republic of Ireland for the purposes of the Suppression of Terrorism Act 1978 so that it becomes a convention country within the meaning of the Act.

The country is a party to the European Convention on the Suppression of Terrorism. The following countries have now been designated for the purposes of the Act: Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Denmark, the Federal Republic of Germany (and Berlin (West)), France, Iceland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, the Republic of Ireland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and Turkey. In addition the 1978 Act has been applied to the United States of America by the Suppression of Terrorism Act 1978 (Application of Provisions) (United States of America) Order 1986 (S.I.1986/2146).

By virtue of article 1, this Order comes into force on 7th December 1989.