STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1992 No. 236

REPRESENTATION OF THE PEOPLE

EUROPEAN PARLIAMENTARY ELECTIONS

The European Parliamentary Constituencies (Scotland) (Miscellaneous Changes) Order 1992

Made - - - - 11th February 1992 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

At the Court of Buckingham Palace, the 11th day of February 1992

Present,

The Queen's Most Excellent Majesty in Council

Whereas in pursuance of paragraph 3 of Schedule 2 to the European Parliamentary Elections Act 1978(1) the Boundary Commission for Scotland have submitted to the Secretary of State a supplementary report dated 4th July 1991 with respect to the areas comprised in certain European Parliamentary constituencies in Scotland and showing the European Parliamentary constituencies into which they recommend that the areas should be divided, in accordance with the provisions of paragraph 9 of the said Schedule 2:

And whereas the Secretary of State has laid that report before Parliament together with the draft of this Order in Council to give effect to the recommendations contained in the report and each House of Parliament has by resolution approved the said draft:

Now, therefore, Her Majesty, in pursuance of paragraph 4B of Schedule 2 to the European Parliamentary Elections Act 1978(2), is pleased, by and with the advice of Her Privy Council, to order, and it is hereby ordered, as follows:—

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the European Parliamentary Constituencies (Scotland) (Miscellaneous Changes) Order 1992.

^{(1) 1978} c. 10; paragraph 3 of Schedule 2 was substituted by section 1(3) of the European Parliamentary Elections Act 1981 (c. 8) and amended by paragraph 5(3) of Schedule 3 to the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986 (c. 56); the words "European Parliamentary" were substituted for the words "European Assembly" in the provisions concerning the citation of the 1978 and 1981 Acts by section 3(1)(b) and (2)(b) of the European Communities (Amendment) Act 1986 (c. 58) on the coming into force of the Single European Act on 1st July 1987.

⁽²⁾ Paragraph 4B was inserted by paragraph 5(4) of Schedule 3 to the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986.

- (2) Subject to paragraph 8(1) of Schedule 2 to the European Parliamentary Elections Act 1978(3), this Order shall come into force on the fourteenth day after the day on which it is made.
- 2. For the six European Parliamentary constituencies of Strathclyde West, Strathclyde East, Glasgow, Lothians, South of Scotland and Mid Scotland and Fife, as constituted by the European Parliamentary Constituencies (Scotland) (Miscellaneous Changes) Order 1989(4) (and described by reference to the parliamentary constituencies referred to in that Order), and for the European Parliamentary Constituencies (Scotland) Order 1984(5) (and described by reference to the parliamentary constituencies referred to in that Order), there shall be substituted the seven European Parliamentary constituencies named on the left-hand side of the Schedule to this Order and comprising the parliamentary constituencies which are set out on the right-hand side and which are constituted—
 - (a) in the case of the Cunninghame North, Eastwood, Strathkelvin and Bearsden, East Kilbride, Glasgow Rutherglen, Motherwell North, Glasgow Cathcart, Glasgow Springburn, Edinburgh East, Linlithgow, Midlothian, East Lothian, Tweeddale, Ettrick and Lauderdale, North East Fife, Perth and Kinross, Stirling and North Tayside constituencies, by the Parliamentary Constituencies (Scotland) (Miscel laneous Changes) Order 1990(6);
 - (b) in the case of the Clydebank and Milngavie, Monklands East, Glasgow Garscadden, Glasgow Maryhill, Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley, Clydesdale, Galloway and Upper Nithsdale, Central Fife, Clackmannan, Dunfermline East, Dunfermline West and Falkirk East constituencies, by the Parliamentary Constituencies (Scot land) (Miscellaneous Changes) Order 1988(7);
 - (c) in the case of the Edinburgh South, Ayr, Cunninghame South, Roxburgh and Berwickshire, Hamilton and Dumbarton constituencies, by the Parliamentary Con stituencies (Scotland) (Miscellaneous Changes) Order 1987(8); and
 - (d) in the case of the remaining constituencies by the Parliamentary Constituencies (Scotland) Order 1983(9).
- **3.**—(1) Subject to paragraph (2) below, the European Parliamentary Constituencies (Scotland) (Miscellaneous Changes) Order 1989 is revoked.
- (2) The revocation shall not affect any election earlier than the first general election of representatives to the European Parliament held after this Order comes into force.

G.I. de Deney Clerk of the Privy Council

⁽³⁾ Paragraph 8(1) was amended by paragraph 5(9) of Schedule 3 to the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986.

⁽⁴⁾ S.I.1989/494.

⁽⁵⁾ S.I. 1984/548; the citation of this Order has been amended by section 3(1)(b) and (2)(b) of the European Communities (Amendment) Act 1986.

⁽⁶⁾ S.I. 1990/2298.

⁽⁷⁾ S.I. 1988/1992.

⁽⁸⁾ S.I. 1987/469.

⁽⁹⁾ S.I. 1983/422.

SCHEDULE Article 2

NAMES AND AREAS OF ALTERED EUROPEAN PARLIAMENTARY CONSTITUENCIES IN SCOTLAND

Strathclyde West The parliamentary constituencies of—

Clydebank and Milngavie

Cunninghame North

Dumbart on

Eastwood

Greenock and Port Glasgow

Paisley North Paisley South

Renfrew West and Inverclyde

Strathkelvin and Bearsden

Strathclyde East The parliamentary constituencies of—

Cumbernauld and Kilsyth

East Kilbride

Glasgow Rutherglen

Hamilton

Kilmarnock and Loudoun

Monklands East
Monklands West
Motherwell North
Motherwell South

Glasgow The parliamentary constituencies of—

Glasgow Cathcart Glasgow Central Glasgow Garscadden

Glasgow Govan
Glasgow Hillhead
Glasgow Maryhill
Glasgow Pollok
Glasgow Provan
Glasgow Shettleston

Glasgow Springburn

Lothians The parliamentary constituencies of—

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Edinburgh Central

Edinburgh East

Edinburgh Leith

Edinburgh Pentlands

Edinburgh South

Edinburgh West

Linlithgow

Livingston

Midlothian

South of Scotland The parliamentary constituencies of—

Ayr

Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley

Clydesdale

Cunninghame South

Dumfries

East Lothian

Galloway and Upper Nithsdale

Roxburgh and Berwickshire

Tweeddale, Ettrick and Lauderdale

Mid Scotland and Fife The parliamentary constituencies of—

Central Fife

Clackmannan

Dunfermline East

Dunfermline West

Falkirk East

Falkirk West

Kirkcaldy

North East Fife

Perth and Kinross

Stirling

North East Scotland The parliamentary constituencies of—

Aberdeen North

Aberdeen South

Angus East

Banff and Buchan

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Dundee East
Dundee West
Gordon
Kincardine and Deeside
North Tayside

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect without modification to the recommendations contained in the supplementary report of the Boundary Commission for Scotland dated 4th July 1991. The report contains proposals for changes to the areas comprised in the European Parliamentary constituencies of Strathclyde West, Strathclyde East, Glasgow, Lothians, South of Scotland, Mid Scotland and Fife and North East Scotland where changes to the boundaries of parliamentary constituencies have resulted in inconsistencies between those boundaries and the boun daries of European Parliamentary constituencies. Article 2 of, and the Schedule to, this Order set out the altered constituencies.

By virtue of the provision referred to in article 1(2), the altered constituencies will only have effect from the next European Parliamentary general election.

The revocation of the European Parliamentary Constituencies (Scotland) (Miscellaneous Changes) Order 1989 by article 3 will also only have effect from the next European Parliamentary general election.