STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1992 No. 350

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The City of Swansea (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1992

Made - - - - 21st February 1992

Coming into force in accordance with article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 58(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(1), the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales on 17th December 1990 submitted proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the City of Swansea;

And whereas in giving effect to those proposals I have decided to make certain modifications;

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 58(2) and 67 of the said Act, I hereby make the following Order:

- 1. This Order may be cited as the City of Swansea (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1992.
- 2. This Order shall come into force on 7th May 1992 except that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day, it shall come into force forthwith.
- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the City of Swansea shall be abolished and that City shall be divided into twenty-five wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of Schedule 1 to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the existing areas specified opposite thereto in column 2 of that Schedule.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward constituted by paragraph (1) above shall be the number specified in column 3 of Schedule 1 to this Order opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.
- **4.**—(1) Subject to the provisions of article 5 below, the elections of councillors of the City of Swansea shall be by thirds.
- (2) Subject to the provisions of article 5 below, the order of retirement of councillors of the City of Swansea shall be as set out in Schedule 2 to this Order.
- **5.**—(1) The councillors who immediately before the coming into force of this Order represent the existing Bonymaen, Castle, Cockett, Cwmbwrla, Dunvant, Landore, Llansamlet, Mayals, Morriston, Mynyddbach, Newton, Oystermouth, Penderry, Pennard, Sketty, St. Thomas, Townhill, Uplands and West Cross wards of the City, except those councillors who are due to retire on 11th May 1992 (being

the fourth day after the ordinary day of election) in accordance with section 7(9)(c) of the Local Government Act 1972, shall represent the ward of the same name as constituted by this Order.

- (2) Subject to paragraph (4) below, where a councillor is due to retire on 11th May 1992 in accordance with section 7(9)(c) of the Local Government Act 1972 in any of the existing wards referred to in paragraph (1) above, a councillor shall be elected for the ward of the same name as constituted by this Order on 7th May 1992 (being the ordinary day of election of councillors) except that two councillors (instead of one) shall be elected on that day for the Uplands ward of the City.
- (3) Any casual vacancy existing immediately before the coming into force of this Order in the representation of the existing wards referred to in paragraph (1) above shall be deemed to exist in the representation of the ward of the same name as constituted by this Order.
- (4) A councillor shall not be elected on 7th May 1992 for the Townhill ward of the City (and the number of councillors for that ward shall accordingly be reduced from three to two).
- (5) The councillors who immediately before the coming into force of this Order represent the existing Bishopston, Killay, North Gower and South Gower wards of the City shall retire on 11th May 1992.
- (6) The councillors for the Bishopston, Fairwood, Gower, Killay North, Killay South and Penclawdd wards of the City as constituted by this Order shall be elected on 7th May 1992.
- (7) The councillors elected in 1992 for the Bishopston, Fairwood, Gower, Killay North and Killay South wards of the City, other than on an election to fill a casual vacancy, shall retire in 1995.
- (8) Except as otherwise provided in the foregoing paragraphs of this article, the term of office of councillors shall be four years, and all councillors shall retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors of the City in the year of retirement and the newly elected councillors shall come into office on the day on which their predecessors retire.
 - (9) In this article, "the City" means the City of Swansea.
- **6.** The registration officer shall make such re-arrangement or adaptation of the register of local government electors as may be necessary on account of the coming into force of this Order.

Kenneth Baker
One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of
State Home Office

21st February 1992

SCHEDULE 1 Article 3

NAMES AND AREAS OF AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW WARDS

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of New Ward	Area of New Ward	Number of Councillors
Bishopston	The community of Bishopston	1
Bonymaen	The community of Bonymaen	2
Castle	The community of Castle	3
Cockett	The community of Cockett	4
Cwmbwrla	The community of Cwmbwrla	2
Dunvant	The community of Dunvant	1
Fairwood	The community of Upper Killay and the Three Crosses ward of the community of Llanrhidian Higher	1
Gower	The communities of Ilston, Llangennith, Llanmadoc and Cheriton, Llanrhidian Lower, Penrice, Port Eynon, Reynoldston and Rhossili	1
Killay North	The North ward of the community of Killay	1
Killay South	The South and West wards of the community of Killay	1
Landore	The community of Landore	2
Llansamlet	The communities of Birchgrove and Llansamlet	3
Mayals	The Mayals ward of the community of Mumbles	1
Morriston	The community of Morriston	4
Mynyddbach	The community of Mynyddbach	3
Newton	The Newton ward of the community of Mumbles	1
Oystermouth	The Oystermouth ward of the community of Mumbles	1
Penclawdd	The Llanmorlais and Penclawdd wards of the community of Llanrhidian Higher	1
Penderry	The community of Penderry	4
Pennard	The community of Pennard	1

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of New Ward	Area of New Ward	Number of Councillors
Sketty	The community of Sketty	4
St. Thomas	The community of St. Thomas	2
Townhill	The community of Townhill	2
Uplands	The community of Uplands	4
West Cross	The West Cross ward of the community of Mumbles	2

SCHEDULE 2 Article 4(2)
ORDER OF RETIREMENT OF COUNCILLORS

		in 1995	in 1996
Bishopston	0	1	0
Bonymaen	0	1	1
Castle	1	1	1
Cockett	1	1	2
Cwmbwrla	1	0	1
Dunvant	0	1	0
Fairwood	0	1	0
Gower	0	1	0
Killay North	0	1	0
Killay South	0	1	0
Landore	1	0	1
Llansamlet	1	1	1
Mayals	1	0	0
Morriston	1	1	2
Mynyddbach	1	1	1
Newton	1	0	0
Oystermouth	1	0	0
Penclawdd	0	0	1
Penderry	1	1	2
Pennard	0	1	0
Sketty	2	1	1

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Name of ward	Number of councillors to retire in 1994	Number of councillors to retire in 1995	Number of councillors to retire in 1996
St. Thomas	1	1	0
Townhill	1	1	0
Uplands	1	1	2
West Cross	1	0	1