STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1993 No. 227

REPRESENTATION OF THE PEOPLE

REDISTRIBUTION OF SEATS

The Parliamentary Constituencies (Wales) (Miscellaneous Changes) Order 1993

Made--9th February 1993Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

At the Court at Buckingham Palace, the 9th day of February 1993

Present,

The Queen's Most Excellent Majesty in Council

Whereas in pursuance of section 3(3) of the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986(1) the Boundary Commission for Wales have submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated 30th September 1992 with respect to the areas comprised in certain constituencies in Wales and showing the constituencies into which they recommend, in accordance with the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986, that the areas should be divided;

And whereas the Secretary of State has laid that report before Parliament together with the draft of this Order in Council to give effect to the recommendations contained in the report and each House of Parliament has by resolution approved the said draft;

Now, therefore, Her Majesty, in pursuance of section 4 of the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986, is pleased, by and with the advice of Her Privy Council, to order, and it is hereby ordered, as follows:

1. –

(1) This Order may be cited as the Parliamentary Constituencies (Wales) (Miscellaneous Changes) Order 1993.

(2) Subject to section 4(6) of the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986, this Order shall come into force on the fourteenth day after the day on which it is made.

2. For the county constituencies of Carmarthen, Ceredigion and Pembroke North, Llanelli and Pembroke as constituted by the Schedule to the Parliamentary Constituencies (Wales) (Miscellaneous Changes) Order 1987(**2**) (and described by reference to the local government areas

^{(1) 1986} c. 56.

⁽²⁾ S.I.1987/2050.

referred to in that Order) and for the county constituency of Montgomery as constituted by the Parliamentary Constituencies (Wales) (Miscellaneous Changes) Order 1986(**3**) (and described by reference to the local government areas referred to in that Order), there shall be substituted the county constituencies which are named in the Schedule to this Order, and comprise the areas set out below each name in that Schedule, which areas are local government areas as they existed on 30th September 1992 (and accordingly as altered by the Carmarthen (Communities) Order 1986(**4**), the Ceredigion (Communities) Order 1986(**5**), the Llanelli (Communities) Order 1985(**6**), the Montgomeryshire (Communities) Order 1986(**7**), the Radnor (Communities) Order 1982(**8**) and the South Pembrokeshire (Communities) Order 1985(**9**) or, as the case may be, constituted by the Borough of Dinefwr (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1987(**10**) and the District of Preseli (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1987(**11**)).

3. The county constituency of Brecon and Radnor (as constituted by the Parliamentary Constituencies (Wales) (Miscellaneous Changes) Order 1987) shall be renamed the county constituency of Brecknock and Radnorshire.

4. Each electoral registration officer for the constituencies referred to in article 2 above shall make such re-arrangement or adaptation of the registers of parliamentary electors as may be necessary to give effect to this Order.

N. H. Nicholls Clerk of the Privy Council

(3) S.I. 1986/2231.
(4) S.I. 1986/2008.
(5) S.I. 1986/1364.
(6) S.I. 1985/2064.
(7) S.I. 1986/2009.
(8) S.I. 1982/1776.
(9) S.I. 1985/2063.
(10) S.I. 1987/300.
(11) S.I. 1987/301.

SCHEDULE

Article 2

NEW CONSTITUENCIES

Carmarthen(county constituency)

- (i) the District of Carmarthen; and
- (ii) the following wards of the Borough of Dinefwr, namely, Brynamman, Castle, Cynwyl Gaeo, Ffairfach, Garnant, Glanamman, Llandeilo, Llandovery, Llandybie, Llanegwad, Llanfair-ar-y-bryn, Llanfihangel Aberbythych, Llangadog, Llynfell, Manordeilo, Myddfai, Penygroes, Quarter Bach, Saron and Talley.

Ceredigion Gogledd Penfro(county constituency)

- (i) The District of Ceredigion; and
- (ii) the following wards of the District of Preseli Pembrokeshire, namely, Cilgerran, Clydey, Crymych, Dinas Cross, Fishguard, Goodwick, Newport, St. Dogmaels and Scleddau.

Llanelli(county constituency)

- (i) The Borough of Llanelli; and
- (ii) the following wards of the Borough of Dinefwr, namely, Ammanford, Betws, Myddynfych, Pantyffynnon and Pontamman.

Montgomeryshire(county constituency)

The District of Montgomeryshire.

Pembroke(county constituency)

- (i) The District of South Pembrokeshire; and
- (ii) the following wards of the District of Preseli Pembrokeshire, namely, Brawdy, Burton, Camrose, Castle, Garth, Hakin, Johnston, Letterston, Llangwm, Maenclochog, Merlin's Bridge, Milford Central and East, Milford North and West, Neyland East, Neyland West, Prendergast, Priory, Rudbaxton, St. David's, St. Ishmael's, Solva, The Havens and Wiston.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect without modifications to the recommendations contained in the report of the Boundary Commission for Wales dated 30th September 1992. The report contains proposals for changes to the areas of certain parliamentary constituencies where county boundary changes have resulted in inconsistencies between those boundaries and the boundaries of parliamentary constituencies. Article 2 of, and the Schedule to, this Order gives effect to those proposals (together with the new names for the Ceredigion Gogledd Penfro and Montgomeryshire constituencies). Article 3 of this Order gives effect to the proposal that the name of the constituency formerly known as Brecon and Radnor be changed. By virtue of section 4(6) of the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986, the coming into force of this Order does not affect any parliamentary election until a proclamation is issued by Her Majesty summoning a new Parliament, or affect the constitution of the House of Commons until the dissolution of the Parliament then in being.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.