STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1993 No. 436

The Cheshire, Greater Manchester, Lancashire and Merseyside (County and District Boundaries) Order 1993

Interpretation

2. In this Order-

"Cheshire" means the county of Cheshire, and "Warrington" means the borough of Warrington in that county;

"district" includes a borough, a metropolitan borough and a city;

"electoral division" means an electoral division of the non-metropolitan county to which an area is transferred by this Order(1);

"Greater Manchester" means the metropolitan county of Greater Manchester, and any reference to Bolton, to Salford or to Wigan is a reference to the district of that name in that county;

"Lancashire" means the county of Lancashire, except in the expression "West Lancashire", where it means the Lancashire district of that name, and "Chorley" means the Lancashire district of Chorley;

"the map" means one or more of the 9 maps prepared by the Department of the Environment, marked "Maps of the Cheshire, Greater Manchester, Lancashire and Merseyside (County and District Boundaries) Order 1993", duly numbered for reference, and deposited in accordance with regulation 5 of the Local Government Area Changes Regulations 1976;

"Merseyside" means the metropolitan county of Merseyside, and any reference to St. Helens is a reference to the Merseyside district of that name; any reference to an area as unparished is a reference to that area not forming part of any parish; and "ward" means a ward of the district to which an area is transferred(2), except in the expression "parish ward", where it means the ward of the parish to which an area is transferred.

Every non-metropolitan county is divided into electoral divisions for the purposes of the election of county councillors (section 6(2)(a) of the Local Government Act 1972).

⁽²⁾ Every district (whether metropolitan or non-metropolitan) is divided into wards for the purposes of the election of district councillors (section 6(2)(b) and (c) of the Local Government Act 1972.