STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1993 No. 437

The Hereford and Worcester, Warwickshire and West Midlands (County and Metropolitan Borough Boundaries) Order 1993

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"district" includes a city and a metropolitan borough;

"electoral division" means an electoral division of the county to which an area is transferred by this Order(1);

"Hereford and Worcester" means the County of Hereford and Worcester, and any reference to Bromsgrove is a reference to the district of that name in that county;

"the map" means one of the 13 maps prepared by the Department of the Environment, marked "Maps of the Hereford and Worcester, Warwickshire and West Midlands (County and Metropolitan Borough Boundaries) Order 1993", and deposited in accordance with regulation 5 of the Local Government Area Changes Regulations 1976;

"Warwickshire" means the county of Warwickshire, except in the expression "North Warwickshire", where it means the Warwickshire district of that name, and any reference to Stratford-on-Avon or to Warwick is a reference to the Warwickshire district of that name;

"West Midlands" means the metropolitan county of West Midlands, and any reference to Birmingham or to Solihull is a reference to the West Midlands district of that name; any reference to an area as unparished is a reference to that area not forming part of any parish; and

"ward" means a ward of the district from or to which an area is transferred(2), except in the expression "parish ward" (where it means a ward of the parish to which an area is transferred), and in article 8.

⁽¹⁾ Every non-metropolitan county is divided into electoral divisions for the purposes of the election of county councillors (section 6(2)(a) of the Local Government Act 1972).

⁽²⁾ Every district (whether metropolitan or non-metropolitan) is divided into wards for the purposes of the election of district councillors (sections 6(2)(b) and (c) of the Local Government Act 1972).