STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1993 No. 679

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The County of Wiltshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1993

Made--9th March 1993Coming into force in accordance with article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 51(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(1), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 4th September 1992 submitted to me proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the County of Wiltshire:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 51(2) and 67 of that Act, I hereby make the following Order:

1. This Order may be cited as the County of Wiltshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1993.

2. This Order shall come into force on 6th May 1993, except that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day it shall come into force forthwith.

3.—(1) The map referred to in this Order is the map marked "MAP REFERRED TO IN THE COUNTY OF WILTSHIRE (ELECTORAL ARRANGEMENTS) ORDER 1993" and deposited with the Secretary of State.

(2) Copies of the map marked "COPY OF THE MAP REFERRED TO IN THE COUNTY OF WILTSHIRE (ELECTORAL ARRANGEMENTS) ORDER 1993" shall be deposited with the Council of the County of Wiltshire and with the Director General of the Ordnance Survey and such copies shall, at all reasonable times, be open to inspection by any person.

(3) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway, or other similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line thereof.

4.—(1) The existing electoral divisions of the County of Wiltshire shall be abolished and that County shall be divided into sixty-eight electoral divisions which—

- (a) in the case of the divisions situated within the Borough of Thamesdown, shall bear the names set out in Part II of the Schedule to this Order, and
- (b) in the case of the remaining divisions, shall bear the names set out in column 1 of Part I of that Schedule.

(2) Each electoral division (as constituted by this Order) which is situated in the Borough of Thamesdown shall comprise the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the electoral division and demarcated by blue lines thereon.

(3) Each electoral division (as constituted by this Order) other than those situated in the Borough of Thamesdown shall comprise the existing areas specified in column 2 of Part I of the Schedule to this Order opposite to the name of the electoral division set out in column 1 of that Part.

5. Each registration officer shall make such re-arrangement of, or adaptation to, the register of local government electors as may be necessary on account of the coming into force of this Order.

Home Office 9th March 1993 Kenneth Clarke One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State **Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

SCHEDULE

Article 4

ELECTORAL DIVISIONS

PART I

NAMES AND AREAS OF NEW ELECTORAL DIVISIONS OUTSIDE THE BOROUGH OF THAMESDOWN

1. Name of new electoral division	2. Area of new electoral division
In the District of Kennet	
Aldbourne and Ramsbury	The Aldbourne, Ogbourne, Ramsbury, West Overton and West Selkley wards
Avon and Cannings	The Cannings, Netheravon, Upavon, Wilcot and Woodborough wards
Bedwyn and Pewsey	The Bedwyn, Burbage, Milton Lilbourne, Pewsey and Shalbourne wards
Collingbourne	The Collingbourne, Ludgershall and North Tidworth wards
Devizes	The Devizes East and Devizes North wards
Devizes South and Bromham	The Bromham, Devizes South, Roundway and Seend wards
Lavington	The Cheverell, Market Lavington, Potterne, West Lavington and Urchfont wards
Marlborough	The Marlborough East and Marlborough West wards
In the District of North Wiltshire	
Bremhill and Calne Without	The Bremhill, Calne South, Calne Without and Hilmarton wards
Calne	The Calne Abberd, Calne Central, Calne North and Calne North East wards
Chippenham Park	The Audley, Avon, Hill Rise, Malmesbury Road and Park wards
Chippenham Sheldon	The Allington, Queen's, Redland and Westcroft wards
Chippenham Town	The Monkton Park and Town wards
Corsham	The Corsham, Lacock and Neston and Gastard wards
Cricklade and Purton	The Cricklade and Purton wards
Kington	The Colerne, Kington Langley, Kington St. Michael and Nettleton wards

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

1. Name of new electoral division	2. Area of new electoral division
Malmesbury	The Malmesbury, St. Paul Malmesbury Without and Sherston wards
Minety	The Ashton Keynes, Brinkworth, Crudwell, Minety and Somerford wards
Pickwick with Box	The Box and Pickwick wards
Wootton Bassett North	The The Lydiards and Wootton Bassett North wards
Wootton Bassett South	The Lyneham and Wootton Bassett South wards
In the District of Salisbury	
Alderbury	The Alderbury, Whiteparish and Winterslow wards
Amesbury	The Amesbury and Woodford Valley wards
Bourne Valley	The Idmiston, Laverstock, Upper Bourne and Winterbourne wards
Downton	The Downton, Ebble and Redlynch wards and the parishes of Bishopstone, Bower Chalke, Broad Chalke and Stratford Toney
Durrington	The Bulford and Durrington wards
Mere	The Fonthill, Knoyle, Mere and Western wards
St. Paul	The Fisherton and Bemerton Village and St. Paul wards
Salisbury Bemerton	The Bemerton and Stratford wards
Salisbury Harnham	The Harnham ward
Salisbury St. Mark	The Bishopdown and St. Mark wards
Salisbury St. Martin	The Milford, St. Edmund and St. Martin wards
Tisbury	The Donhead, Fovant, Nadder and Tisbury wards and the parishes of Alvediston and Ebbesbourne Wake
Wilton and Wylye	The Till Valley, Wilton and Wylye wards
In the District of West Wiltshire	
Bradford-on-Avon	The Bradford-on-Avon North and Bradford-on- Avon South wards
Holt	The Holt, Manor Vale and Westbrook wards
Melksham	The Melksham Forest, Melksham Lambourne and Melksham Roundpond wards
Melksham Without	The Blackmore Forest, Melksham Town and Melksham Woodrow wards
Southwick	The Dilton Marsh and Weavers wards

1. Name of new electoral division	2. Area of new electoral division
Trowbridge East	The Adcroft and Park wards
Trowbridge South	The College and Drynham wards
Trowbridge West	The John O' Gaunt ward
Upper Wylye Valley	The Corsley, Mid Wylye Valley, Shearwater and Wylye Valley wards
Warminster East	The Warminster East ward
Warminster West	The Warminster West ward
Westbury	The Westbury with Storridge ward
Whorwellsdown	The Ethandune, Paxcroft and Summerham wards

PART II

NAMES OF ELECTORAL DIVISIONS IN THE BOROUGH OF THAMESDOWN

Haydon Wick Highworth Stratton St. Margaret, Coleview and Nythe Stratton St. Margaret, St. Margaret Stratton St. Margaret, St. Philip Swindon Central Swindon Covingham Swindon Dorcan South Swindon Eastcott Swindon Freshbrook Swindon Gorse Hill Swindon Lawns Swindon Moredon Swindon Parks Swindon Roughmoor Swindon Toothill Swindon Walcot Swindon Western Swindon Whitworth Wanborough Wroughton