STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1994 No. 2978

PREVENTION AND SUPPRESSION OF TERRORISM

The Suppression of Terrorism Act 1978 (Designation of Countries) Order 1994

Made - - - - 1994

Laid before Parliament 28th November 1994

Coming into force - 19th December 1994

In exercise of the powers conferred on me by section 8 of the Suppression of Terrorism Act 1978(1), I hereby make the following Order:

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Suppression of Terrorism Act 1978 (Designation of Countries) Order 1994 and shall come into force on 19th December 1994.
- **2.** The Czech Republic and Slovakia are hereby designated as parties to the European Convention on the Suppression of Terrorism signed at Strasbourg on 27th January 1977.

Home Office 22nd November 1994 Michael Howard
One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of
State

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order designates the Czech Republic and Slovakia so that they become Convention countries within the meaning of the Suppression of Terrorism Act 1978.

The two countries are parties to the European Convention on the Suppression of Terrorism. The following countries have now been designated for the purposes of the Act: Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, the Republic of Ireland, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and Turkey. In addition the 1978 Act has been applied to the United States of America by the Suppression of Terrorism Act 1978 (Application of Provisions) (United States of America) Order 1986 (S.I.1986/2146) and to India by the Suppression of Terrorism Act 1978 (Application of Provisions) (India) Order 1993 (S.I. 1993/2533).

By virtue of article 1, this Order comes into force on 19th December 1994.