#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 1995 No. 2019

# **EDUCATION, ENGLAND AND WALES**

The Sex Discrimination (Designated Educational Establishments) (Revocation) Order 1995

Made - - - - 31st July 1995

Laid before Parliament 2nd August 1995

Coming into force - - 1st September 1995

In exercise of the powers conferred upon the Secretary of State by sections 24(1) and 81(5) of the Sex Discrimination Act 1975(1) the Secretary of State for Education and Employment hereby makes the following Order:

#### Citation and commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the Sex Discrimination (Designated Educational Establishments) (Revocation) Order 1995 and shall come into force on 1st September 1995.

### Revocation

**2.** The Sex Discrimination (Designated Educational Establishments) Order 1975(2), the Sex Discrimination (Designated Educational Establishments) (Amendment) Order 1980(3) and the Further and Higher Education Act 1992 (Consequential Amendments) Order 1993(4) are hereby revoked.

31st July 1995

Eric Forth
Minister of State,
Department for Education and Employment

<sup>(1) 1975</sup> c. 65.

<sup>(2)</sup> S.I.1975/1902.

<sup>(3)</sup> S.I. 1980/1860.

<sup>(4)</sup> S.I. 1993/560.

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order revokes the Sex Discrimination (Designated Educational Establishments) Order 1975 and the Orders amending it, without replacing them.

The 1975 Order designated educational establishments for the purposes of section 22 of the Sex Discrimination Act 1975, which makes it unlawful for the body responsible for any establishment to which section 22 applies to discriminate on the grounds of sex in the conduct of establishment. Section 22 of the 1975 Act was amended by the Education Reform Act 1988 and the Further and Higher Education Act 1992, and the categories of educational establishments in section 22 as amended include most of the establishments designated in the 1975 Order. Of the establishments designated in the 1975 Order which do not fall within section 22, some no longer need to be designated and the remainder no longer exist or have merged with other institutions.