STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 1995 No. 2951

## PROBATION

The Combined Probation Areas (Hertfordshire) Order 1995

Made--I5th November 1995Coming into force-Ist December 1995

The Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by section 2 of the Probation Service Act 1993(1), and after the consultation required by that section, hereby makes the following Order:

**1.** This Order may be cited as the Combined Probation Areas (Hertfordshire) Order 1995 and shall come into force on 1st December 1995.

**2.** For that part of Schedule 2 to the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986(2) which relates to the Hertfordshire Probation Area(3) there shall be substituted the following—

(1)	(2)	(3)
Petty Sessions Area	Probation Area	Number of Justices on Probation Committee
Bishop's Stortford }	Hertfordshire	3
Cheshunt }		
Hertford and Ware }		
North Hertfordshire }		
Dacorum }	3	
Watford }		
Mid Hertfordshire }	3	
St Albans }		

<sup>(1) 1993</sup> c. 47.

<sup>(2)</sup> S.I.1986/1713, amended by S.I. 1992/2121 (which is amended by S.I. 1993/92) and 1993/716.

<sup>(3)</sup> The part relating to Hertfordshire was amended by S.I. 1990/844, 1993/2151 and 1994/3314.

**3.** The nine members of the Hertfordshire Probation Committee appointed before 1st December 1995 by the justices for the petty sessions areas of Bishop's Stortford, Cheshunt, Hertford and Ware, and North Hertfordshire shall decide by agreement, or in default of agreement by lot, which three of them shall continue in office as if appointed by the justices for the grouped petty sessions areas of Bishop's Stortford, Cheshunt, Hertford and Ware, and North Hertfordshire.

**4.** The seven members of the Hertfordshire Probation Committee appointed before 1st December 1995 by the justices for the petty sessions areas of Dacorum and Watford shall decide by agreement, or in default of agreement by lot, which three of them shall continue in office as if appointed by the justices for the grouped petty sessions areas of Dacorum and Watford.

**5.** The six members of the Hertfordshire Probation Committee appointed before 1st December 1995 by the justices for the petty sessions areas of Mid Hertfordshire and St Albans shall decide by agreement, or in default of agreement by lot, which three of them shall continue in office as if appointed by the justices for the grouped petty sessions areas of Mid Hertfordshire and St Albans.

Home Office 15th November 1995 *Blatch* Minister of State

## **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order amends the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986 (1986/1713) to provide for the reorganisation of the eight petty sessions areas within the Hertfordshire Probation Area into three groups of petty sessions areas. Each group is to appoint fewer members to the Hertfordshire Probation Committee than were formerly appointed by the petty sessions areas comprising the group. The total number of justices appointed to the Committee is reduced from twenty-two to nine.