EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

The Sheriff Court Districts Reorganisation Order 1975 ("the 1975 Order") divided Scotland's six sheriffdoms into 50 sheriff court districts (one of which was subsequently abolished). This Order alters the boundaries of 6 of these districts with effect from 1st April 1996.

Under the Sheriffdoms (Alteration of Boundaries) Order 1996 (S.I. 1996/1006), an area around Chryston is to be transferred from the sheriffdom of Glasgow and Strathkelvin into the sheriffdom of South Strathclyde, Dumfries and Galloway. This Order makes the consequential transfer of that area from the sheriff court district of Glasgow and Strathkelvin into the sheriff court district of Airdrie. The other changes involve the transfer of three areas from the sheriff court district of Dundee into the sheriff court districts of Airbroath, Forfar and Perth. All changes made by the Order are linked to the reorganisation of local government areas in Scotland which takes effect on 1st April 1996.

Since the 1975 Order specified the areas of sheriff court districts for the most part by reference to the areas of district and islands councils (which bodies are to be abolished as at 1st April 1996), that Order is now revoked and Schedule 1 to this Order specifies the sheriff court district areas for the most part by reference to new local authority areas and electoral wards.