Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

By virtue of the Sheriffdoms Reorganisation Order 1974 ("the 1974 Order"), Scotland is divided into six sheriffdoms. This Order alters the boundaries of two of these sheriffdoms, so as to transfer an area around Chryston from the sheriffdom of Glasgow and Strathkelvin into the sheriffdom of South Strathclyde, Dumfries and Galloway. The boundaries of the other four sheriffdoms remain unchanged.

Since the 1974 Order specified the areas of sheriffdoms by reference to the areas of regional, district and islands councils (which bodies are to be abolished as at 1st April 1996), that Order is now revoked and the Schedule to this Order specifies the areas of the sheriffdoms by reference to new local authority areas and electoral wards.