EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

The County of Kent was divided into six coroners' districts by the Kent (Coroners' Districts) Order 1974 (S.I. 1974/302).

This Order abolishes the North Kent coroner's district and divides the areas currently within that district between the West Kent district (renamed the North West Kent district), the Maidstone district (renamed the Mid Kent and Medway district) and the Canterbury and Dover district (renamed the East Kent district).