#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 1996 No. 510

# MENTAL HEALTH

# The Mental Health Review Tribunals (Regions) Order 1996

Made - - - - 4th March 1996
Laid before Parliament 6th March 1996
Coming into force - 1st April 1996

The Secretary of State for Health, in exercise of powers conferred by section 65(1B) and (1C) of the Mental Health Act 1983(1) and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:—

### Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Mental Health Review Tribunals (Regions) Order 1996 and shall come into force on 1st April 1996.
  - (2) In this Order "the Act" means the Mental Health Act 1983.

### **Determination of regions**

**2.** Each of the regions described in column (2) of the Schedule to this Order is hereby determined as a region for the purposes of section 65(1A)(a) of the Act (regions of England for which there are to be Mental Health Review Tribunals) and shall be known by the name specified in relation to it in column (1) of that Schedule.

#### Cessation of effect of deemed determination

**3.** The determination deemed, by virtue of paragraph 15(1) of Schedule 2 to the Health Authorities Act 1995(2), to have been made by the Secretary of State by order under section 65(1B) (a) of the Act (determination of regions for purposes of section 65(1A)(a)) shall cease to have effect.

<sup>(1) 1983</sup> c. 20; section 65 was amended by paragraph 107(6) of Schedule 1 to the Health Authorities Act 1995 (c. 17) ("the 1995 Act"). See section 143(2) as amended by section 27(3) of the Criminal Justice Act 1991 (c. 53) and paragraph 107(13) of Schedule 1 to the 1995 Act. See also section 8(1) of the 1995 Act.

<sup>(2) 1995</sup> c. 17.

### **Transitional provision**

- **4.**—(1) Subject to paragraph (2) of this article, each Tribunal which was, immediately before the coming into force of this Order, in existence for a former region, shall continue to exist and shall be the Tribunal for the new region which is, in relation to that former region, the relevant new region.
- (2) Any application or reference made to a Tribunal for a former region under Part V of the Act before 1st April 1996 but not determined before that date shall be determined by the Tribunal for the relevant new region even if, had the application been made on or after 1st April 1996, it would have been made to a different Tribunal.
  - (3) In this article—

"former region" means a region for which, immediately before 1st April 1996, a Regional Health Authority was established in pursuance of the National Health Service Act 1977(3) as then in force;

"new region" means, a region determined by article 2 of this Order;

"relevant new region" means, in relation to a former region, the new region which has the same name as that former region;

"Tribunal" means a Mental Health Review Tribunal.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for Health

John Bowis
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State,
Department of Health

4th March 1996

<sup>(3) 1977</sup> c. 49. See section 8 (as amended by paragraph 28 of Schedule 1 to the Health Services Act 1980 (c. 53), Schedule 10 to the Health and Social Services and Social Security Adjudications Act 1983 (c. 41) and section 1(1) of, and Schedule 10 to, the National Health Service and Community Care Act 1990 (c. 19)) and S.I. 1994/683. See also paragraph 15(2) of Schedule 2 to the Health Authorities Act 1995 (c. 17).

# SCHEDULE Article 2

## REGIONS OF MENTAL HEALTH REVIEW TRIBUNALS

(1) Name of region	(2) Description of region
Anglia and Oxford Region	The counties of Bedfordshire, Buckinghamshire, Cambridgeshire, Norfolk, Northamptonshire, Oxfordshire and Suffolk; and the Royal county of Berkshire.
Northern and Yorkshire Region	The counties of Cumbria (except the districts of Barrow-in-Furness and South Lakeland), Durham, East Riding of Yorkshire, Hartlepool, the City of Kingston-upon-Hull, Middlesbrough, Northumberland, North Yorkshire, Redcar and Cleveland, Stockton-on-Tees, Tyne and Wear, West Yorkshire and York.
North Thames Region	The counties of Essex and Hertfordshire; the London boroughs of Barking and Dagenham, Barnet, Brent, Camden, Ealing, Enfield, Hackney, Hammersmith and Fulham, Haringey, Harrow, Havering, Hillingdon, Hounslow, Islington, Newham, Redbridge, Tower Hamlets and Waltham Forest; the Royal borough of Kensington and Chelsea; the Cities of London and Westminster; and the Inner Temple and the Middle Temple.
North West Region	The counties of Cheshire, Greater Manchester, Lancashire and Merseyside; in the county of Cumbria, the districts of Barrow-in-Furness and South Lakeland; and in the county of Derbyshire, in the borough of High Peak, the wards of All Saints, Gamesley, St. Andrew's, St. Charles, St. Jane's, St. John's, Simmondley and Tintwistle.
South and West Region	The counties of Bath and North-East Somerset, the City of Bristol, Cornwall, Devon, Dorset, Gloucestershire, Hampshire, Isle of Wight, North-West Somerset, Somerset, South Gloucestershire and Wiltshire; and the Isles of Scilly.
South Thames Region	The counties of East Sussex, Kent, Surrey and West Sussex; the London boroughs of Bexley, Bromley, Croydon, Greenwich, Lambeth, Lewisham, Merton, Richmond upon Thames, Southwark, Sutton and Wandsworth; and the Royal borough of Kingston upon Thames.
Trent Region	The counties of Derbyshire (except, in the borough of High Peak, the wards of All

(1)	(2)
Name of region	Description of region
	Saints, Gamesley, St. Andrew's, St. Charles,
	St. Jane's, St. John's, Simmondley and
	Tintwistle), Leicestershire, Lincolnshire,
	North-East Lincolnshire, North Lincolnshire,
	Nottinghamshire and South Yorkshire.
West Midlands Region	The counties of Hereford and Worcester, Shropshire, Staffordshire, Warwickshire and West Midlands.

### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order determines the regions of England for which Mental Health Review Tribunals are to exercise jurisdiction under the Mental Health Act 1983 from 1st April 1996 (article 2 and the Schedule). The Order also provides that an earlier determination of Tribunals' regions is to cease to have effect (article 3), and makes transitional provision in relation to Tribunals in existence immediately before the Order comes into force (article 4).