#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 1998 No. 2335

# The District of East Lindsey (Electoral Changes) Order 1998

#### Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the District of East Lindsey (Electoral Changes) Order 1998.
- (2) This Order shall come into force for all purposes on 6th May 1999, except that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that date this Order shall come into force on 10th October 1998.
  - (3) In this Order—

"the district" means the district of East Lindsey;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made;

any reference to the map is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions marked "Map of the District of East Lindsey (Electoral Changes) Order 1998", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(1).

## Wards of East Lindsey

- **2.**—(1) The existing wards of the district(2) shall be abolished.
- (2) The district shall be divided into forty eight wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 1.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of that Schedule by reference to parishes, or, where no area is so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of that Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway or other similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

#### Wards of the parish of Louth

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Louth shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into seven parish wards which shall bear the names North Holme, Priory, St James', St Margaret's, St Mary's, St Michael's and Trinity and each parish ward shall comprise the area of the ward of the district bearing the same name.
  - (3) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be three.

#### Wards of the parish of Mablethorpe and Sutton

**4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Mablethorpe and Sutton shall be abolished.

<sup>(1)</sup> S.I.1994/867 to which these are amendments not relevant to this Order.

<sup>(2)</sup> See The District of East Lindsey (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1979 (S.I. 1979/1415).

(2) The parish shall be divided into six parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 2; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be three.

#### Wards of the parish of Skegness

- **5.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Skegness shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into four parish wards which shall bear the names St Clement's, Seacroft, Scarbrough and Winthorpe and each parish ward shall comprise the area of the ward of the district bearing the same name.
  - (3) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be five.

### Wards of the parish of Belchford and Fulletby

**6.** The number of councillors to be elected for the Belchford and Fulletby parish wards shall be seven and three respectively.

#### Revocation

7. The District of East Lindsey (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1979 is hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State.

Hilary Armstrong
Minister of State, Department of the
Environment, Transport and the Regions

21st September 1998