### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 1998 No. 2337

# The District of South Kesteven (Electoral Changes) Order 1998

### Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the District of South Kesteven (Electoral Changes) Order 1998.
- (2) This Order shall come into force for all purposes on 6th May 1999, except that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that date this Order shall come into force on 10th October 1998.
  - (3) In this Order—

"the district" means the district of South Kesteven;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made;

any reference to "the map" is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions, marked "Map of the District of South Kesteven (Electoral Changes) Order 1998", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(1); and

any reference to a numbered sheet is a reference to the sheet of the map which bears that number.

### Wards of South Kesteven

- **2.**—(1) The existing wards of the district(2) shall be abolished.
- (2) The district shall be divided into thirty four wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of the Schedule.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of that Schedule by reference to parishes, or, where no area is so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of that Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway or other similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

### Wards of the parish of Bourne

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Bourne shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into two parish wards which shall bear the names Bourne East and Bourne West and each parish ward shall comprise the area of the ward of the district bearing the same name.
- (3) The number of councillors to be elected for the Bourne East and Bourne West parish wards shall be seven and eight respectively.

<sup>(1)</sup> S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

<sup>(2)</sup> see The District of South Kesteven (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978 (S.I. 1978/43).

### Wards of the parish of Stamford

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Stamford shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into four parish wards which shall bear the names All Saints, St George's, St Mary's and Stamford St John's and each parish ward shall comprise the area of the ward of the district bearing the same name.
- (3) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be five for each of the All Saints, St George's and St Mary's wards and for Stamford St John's shall be six (making a total of 21 councillors).

### Numbers of parish councillors

- **5.**—(1) The number of councillors to be elected for the Baston parish shall be nine.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for the Colsterworth parish shall be eleven.
- (3) The number of councillors to be elected for the Deeping St James parish shall be fifteen.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for the Heydour parish shall be six.
- (5) The number of councillors to be elected for the Morton parish shall be eleven.

### Revocation

**6.** The District of South Kesteven (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978 is hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State

Hilary Armstrong
Minister of State,
Department of the Environment, Transport and
the Regions

21st September 1998