#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 1998 No. 2464

# The District of Mendip (Electoral Changes) Order 1998

#### Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the District of Mendip (Electoral Changes) Order 1998.
- (2) This Order shall come into force on 6th May 1999, except that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that date this Order shall come into force on 10th October 1998.
  - (3) In this Order—
    - "the district" means the district of Mendip;
    - "existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made;
    - and any reference to "the map" is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions marked "Map of the District of Mendip (Electoral Changes) Order 1998", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(1).

# Wards of Mendip

- **2.**—(1) The existing wards of the district(2) shall be abolished.
- (2) The district shall be divided into thirty-five wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of the Schedule.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of the Schedule by reference to parishes, or parishes and parish wards, or where no area is so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of the Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway or other similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

### Frome parish

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Frome shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into five parish wards which shall bear the names Frome Berkley Down, Frome Fromefield, Frome Keyford, Frome Park and Frome Welshmill and each parish ward shall comprise the area of the ward of the district bearing the same name.
  - (3) The number of parish councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be four.

<sup>(1)</sup> S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

<sup>(2)</sup> See The District of Mendip (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976 (S.I. 1976/752).

## Glastonbury parish

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Glastonbury shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into four parish wards which shall bear the names Glastonbury St. Benedict's, Glastonbury St. Edmund's, Glastonbury St. John's and Glastonbury St. Mary's and each parish ward shall comprise the area of the ward of the district bearing the same name.
  - (3) The number of parish councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be four.

## **Shepton Mallet parish**

- **5.**—(1) The parish of Shepton Mallet shall be divided into two parish wards which shall bear the names Shepton East and Shepton West and each parish ward shall comprise the area of the ward of the district bearing the same name.
  - (2) The number of parish councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be eight.

# Street parish

- **6.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Street shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into three parish wards which shall bear the names Street North, Street South and Street West and each parish ward shall comprise the area of the ward of the district bearing the same name.
- (3) The number of parish councillors to be elected for the parish wards of Street North and Street South shall be five in each case and for the parish ward of Street West shall be two.

#### Wells parish

- 7.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Wells shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into three parish wards which shall bear the names Wells St. Cuthbert's, Wells St. Thomas' and Wells Central and each parish ward shall comprise the area of the ward of the district bearing the same name.
- (3) The number of parish councillors to be elected for the parish wards of Wells St. Cuthbert's and Wells St. Thomas' shall be six in each case and for the parish ward of Wells Central shall be four.

## St. Cuthbert (Out) parish

**8.** The number of parish councillors to be elected for St. Cuthbert (Out) parish council shall be seventeen.

#### Revocation

9. The District of Mendip (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976 is hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State

Hilary Armstrong
Minister of State, Department of the
Environment, Transport and the Regions

5th October 1998