## EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for boundary and electoral changes in the district of Mendip.

Article 2 abolishes all of the existing wards of the district and provides for the creation of 35 new wards. That article and the Schedule also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the parish of Frome and provides for the creation of five new parish wards each with 4 councillors.

Article 4 abolishes the existing wards of the parish of Glastonbury and provides for the creation of four new parish wards each with 4 councillors.

Article 5 provides for the creation of two new parish wards for the parish of Shepton Mallet, each with 8 councillors.

Article 6 abolishes the existing wards of the parish of Street and provides for the creation of three new parish wards two of which are to have five councillors and the remaining ward two councillors.

Article 7 abolishes the existing wards of the parish of Wells and provides for the creation of three new parish wards two of which are to have six councillors and the remaining ward four councillors.

Article 8 provides for the number of parish councillors for the parish of St. Cuthbert (Out).

The areas of the new district and parish wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of Mendip District Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions which are located at 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street SW1E 6DE.