Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the district of Sedgemoor.

Article 2 abolishes all of the existing wards of the district and provides for the creation of 25 new wards. That article and the Schedule also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the parish of Burnham-on-Sea and Highbridge and provides for the creation of three new wards and for the number of councillors.

Article 4 abolishes the existing wards of the parish of North Petherton and provides for the creation of three new parish wards and for the number of councillors.

Article 5 abolishes the existing wards each of the parish of Woolavington and provides for the creation of two new parish wards each with 5 councillors.

The areas of the new district and parish wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of Sedgemoor District Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions which are located at 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.