#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

#### 1998 No. 2552

### LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Borough of Dacorum (Electoral Changes) Order 1998

*Made - - - 16th October 1998* 

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Whereas the Local Government Commission for England, acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(1), has submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated February 1998 on its review of the borough of Dacorum(2) together with its recommendations:

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect, with modifications, to those recommendations:

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17(3) and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

#### Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Borough of Dacorum (Electoral Changes) Order 1998.
- (2) This Order shall come into force on 6th May 1999, except that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that date this Order shall come into force on the day after that on which it is made.
  - (3) In this Order-

"the borough" means the borough of Dacorum;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made; and any reference to "the map" is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions marked "Map of the Borough of Dacorum (Electoral Changes) Order 1998", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(4).

<sup>(1) 1992</sup> c. 19.

<sup>(2)</sup> The non-metropolitan district of Dacorum has the status of a borough.

<sup>(3)</sup> Section 17 is amended by section 39(4) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29).

<sup>(4)</sup> S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

#### Wards of Dacorum

- **2.**—(1) The existing wards of the borough(**5**) shall be abolished.
- (2) The borough shall be divided into twenty-seven wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 1.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of that Schedule by reference to parishes, or, where no area is so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of that Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway or other similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature

#### Wards of the parish of Berkhamsted

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Berkhamsted shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into three parish wards which shall bear the names Berkhamsted Castle, Berkhamsted East and Berkhamsted West and each parish ward shall comprise the area of the ward of the borough bearing the same name and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be five.

#### Wards of the parish of Tring

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Tring shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish of Tring shall be divided into three parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 2; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the borough ward specified in column (2) of that Schedule and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be the number specified in respect of the parish ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

#### Revocation

**5.** The Borough of Dacorum (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976 is hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State

Hilary Armstrong
Minister of State,
Department of the Environment, Transport and
the Regions

16th October 1998

# SCHEDULE 1 Article 2 NAMES AND AREAS OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of New Ward	Area of ward	Number of councillors
Adeyfield East		2
Adeyfield West		2
Aldbury and Wigginton	The parishes of Aldbury and Wigginton	1
Apsley		1
Ashridge	The parishes of Little Gaddesden and Nettleden with Potten End	1
Bennetts End		2
Berkhamsted Castle		2
Berkhamsted East		2
Berkhamsted West		2
Bovingdon, Flaunden & Chipperfield		3
Boxmoor		2
Chaulden & Shrubhill		2
Corner Hall		2
Gadebridge		2
Grove Hill		3
Hemel Hempstead		
Central		2
Highfield & St Pauls		3
Kings Langley	The parish of Kings Langley	2
Leverstock Green		3
Nash Mills		1
Northchurch	The parish of Northchurch	1
Tring Central		2
Tring East		1
Tring West		2
Warners eEnd		2
Watling	The parishes of Flamstead, Great Gaddesden and Markyate	2

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of New Ward	Area of ward	Number of councillors
Woodhall		2

#### **SCHEDULE 2**

Article 4

## WARDS OF THE PARISH OF TRING: NAMES, AREAS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of ward	Description of area	Number of councillors
Tring Bunstrux	The Tring Central borough ward	5
Tring Dunsley	The Tring East borough ward	3
Tring Miswell	Such part of the parish of Tring as is within the borough ward of Tring West	4

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the borough of Dacorum.

Article 2 abolishes all of the existing wards of the borough and provides for the creation of 27 new wards. That article and Schedule 1 also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Articles 3 and 4 abolish the existing wards of the parishes of Berkhamsted and Tring and provide for the creation of new wards and the number of councillors.

The areas of the new borough and parish wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of Dacorum Borough Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions which are located at 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.