EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the district of South Gloucestershire.

Article 2 abolishes all of the existing wards of the district and provides for the creation of 35 new wards. That article and Schedule 1 also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Articles 3, 4 and 6 to 12 make electoral changes in the parishes of Bitton, Bradley Stoke, Filton, Mangotsfield Rural, Oldland, Sodbury, Stoke Gifford, Thornbury and Yate and provide for the number of councillors.

Article 5 and Schedule 2 make electoral changes in the parish of Dodington and provide for the number of councillors.

Article 13 makes provision for the number of councillors in the parish of Patchway.

Article 14 revokes the District of Northavon (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1975, the District of Kingswood (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1987 and part of the Avon (Structural Change) Order 1995.

The areas of the new district and parish wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of South Gloucestershire District Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions which are located at 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London, SW1E 6DE.