STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1999 No. 1705

MAGISTRATES' COURTS

The Magistrates' Courts Committees (Hereford and Worcester and Shropshire) Amalgamation Order 1999

Made	14th June 1999
Laid before Parliament	16th June 1999
Coming into force	
for the purpose of articles 2	
and 4	1st April 2001
for all other purposes	12th July 1999

Whereas the magistrates' courts committees for the retained counties(1) of Hereford and Worcester and Shropshire have submitted proposals to the Lord Chancellor under section 32(1) of the Justices of the Peace Act 1997(2) for the amalgamation of the magistrates' courts committees for their areas:

And whereas the provisions of section 32(2) of that Act have been complied with:

Now, therefore, the Lord Chancellor, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by section 32(3) and (8) of that Act, hereby makes the following Order:

(**2**) 1997 c. 25.

 [&]quot;retained county" is defined by section 72(1) of the Justices of the Peace Act 1997 (c. 25) in relation to England as the area of a non-metropolitan county created by Part I of the Local Government Act 1972 (c. 70), as it stood immediately before 1st April 1995.