# 1999 No. 2580

# LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

# The District of Derwentside (Electoral Changes) Order 1999

*Made - - - 7th September 1999* 

*Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)* 

Whereas the Local Government Commission for England, acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(a), has submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated October 1998 on its review of the district of Derwentside together with its recommendations:

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect to those recommendations:

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17(b) and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

### Citation, commencement and interpretation

**1.**—(1) This Order may be cited as the District of Derwentside (Electoral Changes) Order 1999.

- (2) This Order shall come into force-
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to elections to be held on 1st May 2003, on 10th October 2002;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on 1st May 2003.
- (3) In this Order–

"district" means the district of Derwentside;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made; and

any reference to the map is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions marked "Map of the District of Derwentside (Electoral Changes) Order 1999", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(c).

#### Wards of Derwentside

**2.**—(1) The existing wards of the district(**d**) shall be abolished.

(2) The district shall be divided into twenty-two wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of the Schedule.

(3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of the Schedule by reference to parishes or, where no area is so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of the Schedule.

<sup>(</sup>a) 1992 c. 19.

<sup>(</sup>b) Section 17 is amended by section 39(4) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29).

<sup>(</sup>c) S.I. 1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

<sup>(</sup>d) See the District of Derwentside (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978 (S.I. 1978/231).

(4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

### Revocation

3. The District of Derwentside (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978 is hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions

> Beverley Hughes Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions

7th September 1999

## SCHEDULE

Article 2

## NAMES AND AREAS OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1) Name of Ward	(2) Area of Ward	(3) Number of Councillors
Annfield Plain		3
Benfieldside		3
Blackhill		3
Burnhope	The parish of Burnhope	1
Burnopfield		3
Castleside	The parishes of Healeyfield and Muggleswick	1
Catchgate		2
Consett East		1
Consett North		3 2
Consett South		
Cornsay	The parishes of Cornsay, Hedleyhope and Satley	1
Craghead and South Stanley		3
Delves Lane		
Dipton		2
Ebchester and Medomsley		3 2 3 3 3 3
Esh	The parish of Esh	3
Havannah		3
Lanchester	The parishes of Greencroft and Lanchester	3
Leadgate		3
South Moor		3
Stanley Hall		3 3
Tanfield		3

### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

## (This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the district of Derwentside. The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after 1st May 2003.

Article 2 abolishes all of the existing wards of the district and provides for the creation of 22 new wards. That article and the Schedule also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Article 3 revokes the District of Derwentside (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978.

The areas of the new district wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of Derwentside District Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions, 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.

# 1999 No. 2580

# LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The District of Derwentside (Electoral Changes) Order 1999

£1.50

© Crown copyright 1999

Printed and published in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Carol Tullo, Controller of Her Majesty's Stationery Office and Queen's Printer of Acts of Parliament

WO 5443 9/99 ON (MFK)