STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1999 No. 2581

The District of Easington (Electoral Changes) Order 1999

Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the District of Easington (Electoral Changes) Order 1999.
- (2) This Order shall come into force-
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to elections to be held on 1st May 2003, on 10th October 2002;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on 1st May 2003.
- (3) In this Order-

"district" means the district of Easington;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made; and any reference to the map is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions marked "Map of the District of Easington (Electoral Changes) Order 1999", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(1).

Wards of Easington

- **2.**—(1) The existing wards of the district(2) shall be abolished.
- (2) The district shall be divided into twenty wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 1.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of that Schedule by reference to parishes, or parish wards or to parishes and parish wards or, where no area is so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of that Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Dalton-le-Dale

3. The parish of Dalton-le-Dale shall be divided into two parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 2; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be the number specified in respect of the parish ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

⁽¹⁾ S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

⁽²⁾ See the District of Easington (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978 (S.I. 1978/1859).

Wards of the parish of Horden

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Horden shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into two parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 3; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be the number specified in respect of the parish ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

Wards of the parish of Murton

- **5.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Murton shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into two parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 4; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be the number specified in respect of the parish ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

Wards of the parish of Peterlee

- **6.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Peterlee shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into five parish wards which shall bear the names Acre Rigg, Dene House, Eden Hill, Howletch and Passfield; and each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward bearing the same name.
- (3) The number of councillors to be elected for each of the Acre Rigg, Dene House, Edenhill and Howletch parish wards shall be four and for the Passfield parish ward shall be six.

Wards of the parish of Seaham

- 7.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Seaham shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into four parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 5; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be the number specified in respect of the parish ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

Numbers of parish councillors for Haswell and Thornley parishes

- **8.**—(1) The number of parish councillors to be elected for the Haswell parish shall be nine.
- (2) The number of parish councillors to be elected for the Thornley parish shall be ten.

Revocation

9. The District of Easington (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978 is hereby revoked.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions

Beverley Hughes
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State,
Department of the Environment, Transport and
the Regions

7th September 1999