STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1999 No. 833

EDUCATION, ENGLAND AND WALES EDUCATION, SCOTLAND

The Education (Recognised Bodies) Order 1999

 Made
 24th March 1999

 Coming into force
 5th April 1999

In exercise of the powers conferred by section 216(1) of the Education Reform Act 1988(1) the Secretary of State for Education and Employment hereby makes the following Order:–

- **1.** This Order may be cited as the Education (Recognised Bodies) Order 1999 and shall come into force on 5th April 1999.
- **2.** The bodies which are specified in the Schedule to this Order are hereby designated as bodies which appear to the Secretary of State to be recognised bodies.
 - **3.** The Education (Recognised Bodies) Order 1997(2) is hereby revoked.

Tessa Blackstone
Minister of State,
Department for Education and Employment

24th March 1999

⁽²⁾ 1997/1.

SCHEDULE

Article 2

University of Aberdeen

University of Abertay Dundee

Anglia Polytechnic University

The Archbishop of Canterbury

Aston University

University of Bath

Bath Spa University College

University of Birmingham

Bolton Institute of Higher Education

Bournemouth University

University of Bradford

University of Brighton

University of Bristol

Brunel University

University of Buckingham

Buckinghamshire Chilterns University College

University of Cambridge

Canterbury Christ Church University College

University of Central England in Birmingham

University of Central Lancashire

Cheltenham and Gloucester College of Higher Education

University College Chichester

City University

Coventry University

Cranfield University

De Montfort University

University of Derby

University of Dundee

University of Durham

University of East Anglia

University of East London

University of Edinburgh

University of Essex

University of Exeter

University of Glamorgan (Prifysgol Morgannwg)

University of Glasgow

Glasgow Caledonian University

University of Greenwich

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Harper Adams University College

Henley Management College

Heriot-Watt University

University of Hertfordshire

University of Huddersfield

University of Hull

University of Keele

University of Kent at Canterbury

Kingston University

University of Lancaster

University of Leeds

Leeds Metropolitan University

University of Leicester

University of Lincolnshire and Humberside

University of Liverpool

Liverpool John Moores University

University of London

London Guildhall University

The London Institute

Loughborough University

University of Luton

University of Manchester

University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology

The Manchester Metropolitan University

Middlesex University

Napier University, Edinburgh

University of Newcastle upon Tyne

University of North London

University College Northampton

University of Northumbria at Newcastle

University of Nottingham

The Nottingham Trent University

Open University

University of Oxford

Oxford Brookes University

University of Paisley

University of Plymouth

University of Portsmouth

Presbyterian Theological Faculty, Ireland

Queen Margaret University 'College, Edinburgh

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

The Queen's University of Belfast

University of Reading

The Robert Gordon University

Roehampton Institute London

Royal Agricultural College

Royal College of Art

Royal College of Music

The Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama, Glasgow

University of Salford

University of Sheffield

Sheffield Hallam University

South Bank University

University of Southampton

University of St Andrews

Staffordshire University

University of Stirling

University of Strathclyde

University of Sunderland

University of Surrey

The Surrey Institute of Art & Design, University College

University of Sussex

University of Teesside

Thames Valley University

University of Ulster

University of Wales

University of Warwick

University of the West of England, Bristol

University of Westminster

University of Wolverhampton

University College Worcester

University of York

Schools, Colleges and Institutes of the University of London permitted by the University to award University of London degrees

Birkbeck College

Courtauld Institute of Art

Goldsmiths College

Heythrop College

Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine

Institute of Education

Kings College London
London Business School
London School of Economics and Political Science
London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
Queen Mary and Westfield College
Royal Holloway and Bedford New College
The Royal Veterinary College
The School of Advanced Study
School of Oriental and African Studies
The School of Pharmacy
School of Slavonic and East European Studies
St George's Hospital Medical School
University College London
Wye College

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order lists all those bodies which appear to the Secretary of State to be recognised bodies within section 214(2)(a) or (b) of the Education Reform Act 1988. These are universities, colleges or other bodies which are authorised by Royal Charter or by or under Act of Parliament to grant degrees and other bodies for the time being permitted by these bodies to act on their behalf in the granting of degrees. An award granted by such a body is not an award of a kind referred to in section 214(1), which makes it an offence to grant, offer to grant, or issue any invitation relating to certain unrecognised degrees and awards.

This Order updates and replaces the list of bodies contained in the Education (Recognised Bodies) Order 1997, which is revoked. It includes a number of institutions which have been authorised to award degrees under section 76 of the Further and Higher Education Act 1992 (c. 13), and section 48 of the Further and Higher Education (Scotland) Act 1992 (c. 37). It also includes a number of schools, colleges and institutes of London University which have been permitted by the University to award University of London degrees.