### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 1999 No. 993

## **PROBATION**

# The Combined Probation Areas (Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire) Order 1999

Made - - - - 26th March 1999 Coming into force - - 1st April 1999

The Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by section 2 of the Probation Services Act 1993(1), and after the consultation required by that section, hereby makes the following Order:

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Combined Probation Areas (Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire) Order 1999 and shall come into force on 1st April 1999 save that, for the purposes of making appointments to the probation committee for Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire to take effect on that date, this Order shall come into force forthwith.
- **2.** For that part of the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986(2) which relates to the Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire area(3), there shall be substituted the following—

(1) Petty Sessions Area	(2) Probation Area	(3) Number of Justices on Probation Committee
Southern Oxfordshire	Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire	1
Northern Oxfordshire		1
Central Buckinghamshire		1
Milton Keynes		1
Oxford		1
Wycombe and Beaconsfield		1

<sup>(1) 1993</sup> c. 47.

<sup>(2)</sup> S.I. 1986/1713, amended by S.I. 1992/2121 (which is amended by S.I. 1993/92) and 1993/716.

<sup>(3)</sup> The part relating to Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire was amended by S.I. 1986/2317, 1988/2233, 1992/840, 1994/473, 1994/1543 and 1995/3283.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Home Office 26th March 1999 Gareth Williams Minister of State

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order amends the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986 (S.I.1986/1713) to take account of the creation of the new petty sessional divisions of Northern Oxfordshire, Southern Oxfordshire and Oxford as effected by the Petty Sessional Divisions (Berkshire and Oxfordshire) Order 1998 (S.I. 1998/2959) and the Petty Sessional Divisions (Berkshire and Oxfordshire) (No. 2) Order 1998 (S.I. 1998/2960) which come into force subject to certain exceptions on 1st April 1999. The former petty sessional divisions of Banbury, Bicester and Witney are combined to form Northern Oxfordshire. Southern Oxfordshire is created from the former petty sessional divisions of Abingdon, Didcot and Wantage. The new petty sessional division of Oxford subsumes the former divisions of Oxford, Thame and Henley.