EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect, with modifications, to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the London borough of Lewisham. The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after 2nd May 2002.

The modifications relate to names of wards. The Secretary of State has decided that the wards shown in the first column of the Table below with the names proposed by the Commission should bear the names shown in the second column.

Proposed Ward Name	Ward Name	
Burnt Ash	Lee Green	
Catford Central	Rushey Green	
Drake	Brockley	
Forster	Whitefoot	
Hither Green	Lewisham Central	
Marlowe	New Cross	
Pepys	Telegraph Hill	

Article 2 abolishes the existing wards of the borough and provides for the creation of 18 new wards. That article and the Schedule also make provision for the names of the new wards. Each ward will be represented by 3 councillors.

Article 3 revokes the London Borough of Lewisham (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977.

The areas of the new wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of the Council of the London Borough of Lewisham and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions, 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.