STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2000 No. 1419

The District of North Shropshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2000

Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the District of North Shropshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2000.
 - (2) This Order shall come into force—
 - (a) for the purposes of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on 1st May 2003, on 10th October 2002;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on 1st May 2003.
 - (3) In this Order—
 - "district" means the district of North Shropshire;
 - "existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made;
 - any reference to the map is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions marked "Map of the District of North Shropshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2000", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(1); and
 - any reference to a numbered sheet is a reference to the sheet of the map which bears that number.

Wards of North Shropshire

- **2.**—(1) The existing wards of the district (2) shall be abolished.
- (2) The district shall be divided into twenty-four wards, which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 1.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of that Schedule by reference to parishes or parishes and parish wards or, where no area is so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of that Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Baschurch

3. The parish of Baschurch shall be divided into two parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 2; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward

⁽¹⁾ S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

⁽²⁾ See the District of North Shropshire (Electoral Arrangments) Order 1976 (S.I. 1976/196).

specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule; and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be the number specified in respect of the parish ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

Wards of the parish of Ellesmere Rural

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Ellesmere Rural shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into four wards, which shall bear the names Dudleston, Dudleston Heath, Tetchill and Welsh Frankton; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheets 14 and 15 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
- (3) The number of councillors to be elected for each of the parish wards of Dudleston and Dudleston Heath shall be four, and for each of the parish wards of Tetchill and Welsh Frankton shall be two.

Wards of the parish of Market Drayton

5. The parish of Market Drayton shall be divided into three parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 3; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule; and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be the number specified in respect of the parish ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

Wards of the parish of Norton in Hales

6. The parish of Norton in Hales shall be divided into two parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 4; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule; and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be the number specified in respect of the parish ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

Wards of the parish of Prees

- 7.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Prees shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into three parish wards which shall bear the names Fauls, Prees and Prees Higher Heath; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheet 13 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
 - (3) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be four.

Wards of the parish of Stoke upon Tern

8. The parish of Stoke upon Tern shall be divided into two parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 5; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule; and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be five.

Wards of the parish of Wem Rural

- **9.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Wem Rural shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into three parish wards which shall bear the names Edstaston, Newtown and Wem; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheets 12 and 13 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

(3) The number of councillors to be elected for each of the Edstaston and Newtown parish wards shall be five and for the Wem parish ward shall be two.

Wards of the parish of Wem Urban

10. The parish of Wem Urban shall be divided into two parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 6; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule; and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be seven.

Wards of the parish of Whitchurch Urban

11. The parish of Whitchurch Urban shall be divided into three parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 7; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule; and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be five.

Revocation

12. The District of North Shropshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976 is hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions

Beverley Hughes
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State,
Department of the Environment, Transport and
the Regions

24th May 2000