STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2000 No. 1675

The Borough of North Warwickshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2000

Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Borough of North Warwickshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2000.
 - (2) This Order shall come into force—
 - (a) for the purposes of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on 1st May 2003, on 10th October 2002;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on 1st May 2003.
 - (3) In this Order—
 - "borough" means the borough of North Warwickshire;
 - "existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made;

any reference to the map is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions marked "Map of the Borough of North Warwickshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2000", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(1); and

any reference to a numbered sheet is a reference to the sheet of the map which bears that number.

Wards of North Warwickshire

- **2.**—(1) The existing wards of the borough(**2**) shall be abolished.
- (2) The borough shall be divided into seventeen wards, which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 1.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of that Schedule by reference to parishes or, where no area is so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of that Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Atherstone

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Atherstone shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into three parish wards, which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 2; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward specified

⁽¹⁾ S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

⁽²⁾ See the Borough of North Warwickshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976 (S.I. 1976/1132).

in respect of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule; and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be the number specified in respect of the parish ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

Wards of the parish of Coleshill

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Coleshill shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into two wards which shall bear the names Coleshill North and Coleshill South; and each parish ward shall comprise the area of the borough ward bearing the same name.
 - (3) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be five.

Wards of the parish of Kingsbury

- **5.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Kingsbury shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into five parish wards which shall bear the names Hurley, Kingsbury Central, Kingsbury West, Piccadilly & Whateley and Wood End; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheet 6 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
- (3) The number of councillors to be elected for each of the parish wards of Kingsbury West and Piccadilly & Whateley shall be one, for each of the parish wards of Hurley and Wood End shall be two, and for the parish ward of Kingsbury Central shall be five.

Wards of the parish of Polesworth

- **6.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Polesworth shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into four parish wards which shall bear the names Birchmoor, Polesworth East, Polesworth West and Warton; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheet 7 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
- (3) The number of councillors to be elected for the parish ward of Birchmoor shall be one, for each of the parish wards of Polesworth West and Warton shall be three, and for the parish ward of Polesworth East shall be four.

Revocation

7. The Borough of North Warwickshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976 is hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of Statefor the Environment, Transport and the Regions

Beverley Hughes
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State,
Department of the Environment, Transport and
the Regions

23rd June 2000