STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2000 No. 1677

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The District of Warwick (Electoral Changes) Order 2000

Made - - - - 23rd June 2000

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Whereas the Local Government Commission for England, acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(1), has submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated November 1999 on its review of the district of Warwick together with its recommendations:

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect to those recommendations:

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17(2) and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the District of Warwick (Electoral Changes) Order 2000.
- (2) This Order shall come into force—
 - (a) for the purposes of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on 1st May 2003, on 10th October 2002;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on 1st May 2003.
- (3) In this Order—

"district" means the district of Warwick;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made; and any reference to the map is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions marked "Map of the District of Warwick (Electoral Changes) Order 2000", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(3).

¹) 1992 c. 19.

⁽²⁾ Section 17 is amended by section 39(4) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29).

⁽³⁾ S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

Wards of Warwick

- **2.**—(1) The existing wards of the district(**4**) shall be abolished.
- (2) The district shall be divided into twenty wards, which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of the Schedule.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of the Schedule by reference to parishes or parishes and parish wards or, where no area is so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of the Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Kenilworth

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Kenilworth shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into three parish wards which shall bear the names Abbey, Park Hill and St John's; and each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward bearing the same name.
- (3) The number of councillors to be elected for the parish ward of Abbey shall be five, and for each of the parish wards of Park Hill and St John's shall be six.

Wards of the parish of Warwick

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Warwick shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into three parish wards which shall bear the names North, South and West; and each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward bearing the same name.
 - (3) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be five.

Revocation

5. The District of Warwick (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1979 is hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions

Beverley Hughes
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State,
Department of the Environment, Transport and
the Regions

23rd June 2000

SCHEDULE Article 2

NAMES AND AREAS OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of Ward	Area of Ward	Number of Councillors
Abbey		3
Bishop's Tachbrook	The parish of Bishop's Tachbrook	1
Brunswick		3
Budbrooke	The parishes of Barford, Budbrooke, Hatton, Norton Lindsey, Sherbourne and Wasperton	2
Clarendon		2
Crown		2
Cubbington	The parishes of Blackdown, Bubbenhall, Cubbington, Eathorpe, Old Milverton, Wappenbury and Weston under Wetherley	2
Lapworth	The parishes of Baddesley Clinton, Bushwood, Lapworth and Rowington	1
Leek Wootton	The parishes of Beausale, Haseley, Honiley, Leek Wootton & Guy's Cliffe, Shrewley and Wroxhall	1
Manor		3
Milverton		3
Park Hill		3
Radford Semele	The parishes of Hunningham, Offchurch and Radford Semele	1
St John's		3
Stoneleigh	The parishes of Ashow and Baginton, and the Stoneleigh parish ward of Stoneleigh parish	1
Warwick North		3
Warwick South		3
Warwick West		3
Whitnash	The parish of Whitnash	3
Willes		3

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the district of Warwick. The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after 1st May 2003.

Article 2 abolishes the existing wards of the district and provides for the creation of twenty new wards. That article and the Schedule also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Articles 3 and 4 make electoral changes in the parishes of Kenilworth and Warwick.

Article 5 revokes the District of Warwick (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1979.

The areas of the new district and parish wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of the Warwick District Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions, 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.