STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2000 No. 2605

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The District of Selby (Electoral Changes) Order 2000

 Made
 22nd September

 2000
 2000
 2000
 2000

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Whereas the Local Government Commission for England, acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(1), has submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated November 1999 on its review of the district of Selby together with its recommendations:

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect to those recommendations:

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17(2) and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

Citation, commencement and interpretation

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the District of Selby (Electoral Changes) Order 2000.

- (2) This Order shall come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on 1st May 2003, on 10th October 2002;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on 1st May 2003.
- (3) In this Order—

"district" means the district of Selby;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made;

any reference to the map is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions marked "Map of the District of Selby (Electoral Changes) Order 2000", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(**3**); and

any reference to a numbered sheet is a reference to the sheet of the map which bears that number.

^{(1) 1992} c. 19.

⁽²⁾ Section 17 is amended by section 39(4) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29).

⁽³⁾ S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

Wards of the district of Selby

2.—(1) The existing wards of the district(**4**) shall be abolished.

(2) The district shall be divided into twenty wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 1.

(3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of that Schedule by reference to parishes or, where no area is so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

(4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Barlby

3.—(1) The parish shall be divided into three parish wards which shall bear the names Barlby Bridge, Barlby Osgodby and Barlby Village; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheets 3 and 4 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.

(2) The number of councillors to be elected for each of the Barlby Bridge and Barlby Osgodby parish wards shall be two, and the number of councillors to be elected for the Barlby Village parish ward shall be seven.

Wards of the parish of Selby

4.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Selby shall be abolished.

(2) The parish shall be divided into three parish wards which shall bear the names Selby North, Selby South and Selby West; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward bearing the same name; and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be six.

Wards of the parish of Tadcaster

5. The parish of Tadcaster shall be divided into two parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 2; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule; and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be the number specified in respect of the parish ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

Revocation

6. The District of Selby (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978 is hereby revoked.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions

Hilary Armstrong Minister of State, Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions

22nd September 2000

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

SCHEDULE 1

Article 2

NAMES AND AREAS OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

<i>(1)</i>	(2)	(3)
Name of Ward	Area of Ward	Number of Councillors
Appleton Roebuck	The parishes of Acaster Selby, Appleton Roebuck, Bilbrough, Bolton Percy, Catterton, Colton, Healaugh and Steeton	1
Barlby		2
Brayton	The parishes of Barlow and Brayton	3
Camblesforth	The parishes of Camblesforth, Carlton, Drax, Long Drax and Newland	2
Cawood with Wistow	The parishes of Biggin, Cawood, Church Fenton, Little Fenton, Ryther cum Ossendyke and Wistow	2
Eggborough	The parishes of Chapel Haddlesey, Eggborough, Hirst Courtney, Kellington, Temple Hirst and West Haddlesey	2
Fairburn with Brotherton	The parishes of Birkin, Brotherton, Burton Salmon, Byram cum Sutton and Fairburn	2
Hambleton	The parishes of Burn, Gateforth, Hambleton and Thorpe Willoughby	3
Hemingbrough		2
Monk Fryston and South Milford	The parishes of Hillam, Huddleston with Newthorpe, Monk Fryston and South Milford	2
North Duffield	The parishes of North Duffield, Skipwith and Thorganby	1
Riccall with Escrick	The parishes of Escrick, Kelfield, Riccall and Stillingfleet	2
Saxton and Ulleskelf	The parishes of Barkston Ash, Grimston, Kirkby Wharfe with North Milford, Lead, Saxton with Scarthingwell, Towton and Ulleskelf	1

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of Ward	Area of Ward	Number of Councillors
Selby North		3
Selby South		2
Selby West		2
Sherburn in Elmet	The parish of Sherburn in Elmet	3
Tadcaster East		2
Tadcaster West		2
Whitley	The parishes of Balne, Beal, Cridling Stubbs, Heck, Hensall, Kirk Smeaton, Little Smeaton, Stapleton, Walden Stubbs, Whitley and Womersely	2

SCHEDULE 2

Article 5

WARDS OF THE PARISH OF TADCASTER

NAMES AND AREAS OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1) Name of Ward	(2) Area of Ward	(3) Number of Councillors
Tadcaster East	So much of the district ward of Tadcaster East as comprises the parish of Tadcaster	9
Tadcaster West	So much of the district ward of Tadcaster West as comprises the parish of Tadcaster	4

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the district of Selby. The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after 1st May 2003.

Article 2 abolishes the existing wards of the district and provides for the creation of twenty new wards. That article and Schedule 1 also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Articles 3 to 5 make electoral changes in the parishes of Barlby, Selby and Tadcaster.

Article 6 revokes the District of Selby (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978.

The areas of the new district and parish wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of the Selby District Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions, 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.