#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 2001 No. 2429

# The Borough of Ribble Valley (Electoral Changes) Order 2001

#### Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Borough of Ribble Valley (Electoral Changes) Order 2001.
- (2) This Order shall come into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on 1st May 2003, on 15th October 2002;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on 1st May 2003.
- (3) In this Order—

"borough" means the borough of Ribble Valley;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made; and any reference to the map is a reference to the map prepared by the Department for Transport, Local Government and the Regions marked "Map of the Borough of Ribble Valley (Electoral Changes) Order 2001", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(1).

#### Wards of the borough of Ribble Valley

- **2.**—(1) The existing wards of the borough(**2**) shall be abolished.
- (2) The borough shall be divided into twenty-four wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 1.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of that Schedule by reference to parishes or, where an area is not so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of that Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

## Elections of the council of the borough of Ribble Valley

**3.**—(1) The ordinary elections of all councillors of the borough of Ribble Valley shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of non-metropolitan district councillors in 2003(3) and every fourth year after 2003.

<sup>(1)</sup> S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

<sup>(2)</sup> See the Borough of Ribble Valley (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976 (S.I. 1976/161).

<sup>(3)</sup> For the ordinary day of election of councillors of local government areas, see section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50) and section 17 of, and paragraphs 1 and 5 of Schedule 3 to, the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c. 29).

(2) The term of office of councillors shall be four years; and all councillors shall retire on the day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in the year of retirement and the newly-elected councillors shall come into office on the day on which their predecessors retire.

# Wards of the parish of Billington and Langho

**4.** The parish of Billington and Langho shall be divided into two parish wards, which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 2; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the borough ward specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule; and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be the number specified in respect of the parish ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

## Wards of the parish of Clitheroe

- **5.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Clitheroe shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into five parish wards which shall bear the names Edisford and Low Moor, Littlemoor, Primrose, Salthill and St Mary's; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the borough ward bearing the same name; and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be two.

# Wards of the parish of Longridge

- **6.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Longridge shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into three parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 3; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the borough ward specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule; and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be four.

#### Revocation

7. The Borough of Ribble Valley (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976 is hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of Statefor Transport, Local Government and the Regions

Alan Whitehead
Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State,
Department for Transport,Local Government and
the Regions

3rd July 2001