STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2001 No. 2433

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Borough of Wyre (Electoral Changes) Order 2001

Made - - - - 3rd July 2001

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Whereas the Local Government Commission for England, acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(1), has submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated September 2000 on its review of the borough of Wyre(2) together with its recommendations:

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect, subject to one modification, to those recommendations:

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17(3) and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Borough of Wyre (Electoral Changes) Order 2001.
- (2) This Order shall come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on 1st May 2003, on 15th October 2002;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on 1st May 2003.
- (3) In this Order—

"borough" means the borough of Wyre;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made; and

any reference to the map is a reference to the map prepared by the Department for Transport, Local Government and the Regions marked "Map of the Borough of Wyre (Electoral Changes) Order 2001", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(4).

^{(1) 1992} c. 19.

⁽²⁾ The non-metropolitan district of Wyre has the status of a borough.

⁽³⁾ Section 17 is amended by section 39(4) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29).

⁽⁴⁾ S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

Wards of the borough of Wyre

- **2.**—(1) The existing wards of the borough(**5**) shall be abolished.
- (2) The borough shall be divided into twenty-six wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of the Schedule.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of the Schedule by reference to parishes or, where an area is not so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of the Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature

Elections of the council of the borough of Wyre

- **3.**—(1) The ordinary elections of all councillors of the borough of Wyre shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of non-metropolitan district councillors in 2003(6) and every fourth year after 2003.
- (2) The term of office of councillors shall be four years; and all councillors shall retire on the day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in the year of retirement and the newly-elected councillors shall come into office on the day on which their predecessors retired.

Number of parish councillors

4. The number of parish councillors to be elected for the parish of Catterall shall be ten.

Revocation

5. The Borough of Wyre (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976 is hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for Transport, Local Government and the Regions

Alan Whitehead
Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State,
Department for Transport, Local Government
and the Regions

3rd July 2001

⁽⁵⁾ See the Borough of Wyre (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976 (S.I. 1976/755).

⁽⁶⁾ For the ordinary day of election of councillors of local government areas, see section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50) and section 17 of, and paragraphs 1 and 5 of Schedule 3 to, the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c. 29).

NAMES AND AREAS OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

SCHEDULE article 2

(1) (2) (3) Name of Ward Area of Ward Number of Councillors Bourne Breck 2 **Brock** The parishes of Bilsborrow, 1 Claughton and Myerscough The parish of Barnacre-with-Calder 1 **Bonds** Carleton Catterall The parishes of Catterall and 1 Kirkland Cleveleys Park 3 Cabus The parish of Cabus 1 The parishes of Garstang and Garstang Nateby 2 **Great Eccleston** The parishes of Great Eccleston, Inskip-with-Sowerby, Out Rawcliffe and Upper Rawcliffe-with-Tarnacre Hambleton and Stalmine-with-The parishes of Hambleton and 2 Stalmine-with-Staynall Staynall Hardhorn 2 2 **High Cross** Jubilee 2 Mount Norcross 2 Park 2 Pharos 3 Pilling The parishes of Pilling and 1 Winmarleigh Preesall The parish of Preesall 3 Rossall 3 Staina 3 Tithebarn 2 Victoria 3 Warren 3

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of Ward	Area of Ward	Number of Councillors
Wyresdale	The parishes of Bleasdale, Nether Wyresdale and Forton	1

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect, with one modification, to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the borough of Wyre. The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after 1st May 2003.

The modification amends the boundary between the borough wards of Bourne and Staina by transferring part of the former ICI works from Bourne ward to Staina ward and for the boundary to follow the centre of the stream at Hillylaid Pool.

Article 2 abolishes the existing wards of the borough and provides for the creation of twenty-six new wards. That article and the Schedule also make provision for the names and areas of, and number of councillors for, the new wards.

Article 3 makes provision for the election of all councillors of the borough of Wyre to take place in 2003 and every four years after that year.

Article 4 provides electoral changes for the parish of Catterall.

Article 5 revokes the Borough of Wyre (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976.

The areas of the new borough wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of Wyre Borough Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for Transport, Local Government and the Regions, 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.