STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2001 No. 2475

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Borough of Fylde (Electoral Changes) Order 2001

Made - - - - 3rd July 2001

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Whereas the Local Government Commission for England, acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(1), has submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated September 2000 on its review of the borough(2) of Fylde together with its recommendations:

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect to those recommendations:

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17(3) and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Borough of Fylde (Electoral Changes) Order 2001.
- (2) This Order shall come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on 1st May 2003, on 15th October 2002;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on 1st May 2003.
- (3) In this Order—

"borough" means the borough of Fylde;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made; and

any reference to the map is a reference to the map prepared by the Department for Transport, Local Government and the Regions marked "Map of the Borough of Fylde (Electoral Changes) Order 2001", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(4).

^{(1) 1992} c. 19.

⁽²⁾ The non-metropolitan district of Fylde has the status of a borough.

⁽³⁾ Section 17 is amended by section 39(4) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29).

⁽⁴⁾ S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

Wards of the borough of Fylde

- **2.**—(1) The existing wards of the borough(**5**) shall be abolished.
- (2) The borough shall be divided into twenty-one wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of the Schedule.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of the Schedule by reference to parishes or, where an area is not so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of the Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature

Elections of the council of Fylde

- **3.**—(1) The ordinary elections of all councillors of the borough of Fylde shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of non-metropolitan district councillors in 2003(6) and every fourth year after 2003.
- (2) The term of office of councillors shall be four years; and all councillors shall retire on the day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in the year of retirement and the newly elected councillors shall come into office on the day on which their predecessors retire.

Wards of the parish of Freckleton

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Freckleton shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into two parish wards which shall bear the names Freckleton East and Freckleton West; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the borough ward bearing the same name; and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be six.

Wards of the parish of Kirkham

- **5.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Kirkham shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into two parish wards which shall bear the names Kirkham North and Kirkham South; and each parish ward shall comprise the area of the borough ward bearing the same name.
- (3) The number of councillors to be elected for the Kirkham North parish ward shall be six and for the Kirkham South parish ward shall be four.

Revocation

6. The Borough of Fylde (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1975 is hereby revoked.

⁽⁵⁾ See the Borough of Fylde (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1975 (S.I. 1975/1916).

⁽⁶⁾ For the ordinary day of election of councillors of local government areas, see section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50) and section 17 of paragraphs 1 and 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c. 29).

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for Transport, Local Government and the Regions

Alan Whitehead
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State,
Department for Transport, Local Government
and the Regions

3rd July 2001

SCHEDULE Article 2

NAMES AND AREAS OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of Ward	Area of Ward	Number of Councillors
Ansdell		3
Ashton		3
Central		3
Clifton		3
Elswick and Little Eccleston	The parishes of Elswick and Little Eccleston-with-Larbreck	1
Fairhaven		3
Freckleton East		2
Freckleton West		2
Heyhouses		3
Kilnhouse		3
Kirkham North		3
Kirkham South		2
Medlar-with-Wesham	The parish of Medlar-with- Wesham	2
Newton and Treales	The parishes of Newton-with- Clifton and Treales, Roseacre and Wharles	2
Park		3
Ribby-with-Wrea	The parish of Ribby-with-Wrea	1
Singleton and Greenhalgh	The parishes of Greenhalgh- with-Thistleton and Singleton	1
Staining and Weeton	The parishes of Staining and Weeton-with-Preese	2
St Johns		3
St Leonards		3
Warton and Westby	The parishes of Bryning-with- Warton and Westby-with- Plumptons	3

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the borough of Fylde. The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after 1st May 2003.

Article 2 abolishes the existing wards of the borough and provides for the creation of twenty-one new wards. That article and the Schedule also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Article 3 provides for the election of all councillors of the borough of Fylde to take place in 2003 and every four years after that year.

Articles 4 and 5 make electoral changes in the parishes of Freckleton and Kirkham.

Article 6 revokes the Borough of Fylde (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1975.

The areas of the new borough wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of Fylde Borough Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for Transport, Local Government and the Regions, 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.