EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the district of East Riding. The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after 1st May 2003.

The modification relates to the name of one of the wards. The Secretary of State has decided the "Goole Rural" ward be changed to "Snaith, Airmyn, Rawcliffe and Marshland".

Article 2 abolishes the existing wards of the district and provides for the creation of 26 new wards. That article and Schedule 1 also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Article 3 provides for the election of all councillors of the district of East Riding to take place in 2003 and every 4 years after that year.

Articles 4 to 8 make electoral changes in the parishes of Airmyn, Bridlington, Cottingham, Driffield, Hornsea and Woodmansey.

The areas of the new district and parish wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of East Riding District Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for Transport, Local Government and the Regions, 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.