STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2001 No. 3564

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The City of Canterbury (Electoral Changes) Order 2001

Made - - - - 1st November 2001

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Whereas the Local Government Commission for England, acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(1), has submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated May 2001 on its review of the city(2) of Canterbury together with its recommendations:

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect to those recommendations:

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17(3) and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the City of Canterbury (Electoral Changes) Order 2001.
- (2) This Order shall come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on 1st May 2003, on 15th October 2002;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on 1st May 2003.
- (3) In this Order—

"city" means the city of Canterbury;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made; and any reference to the map is a reference to the map prepared by the Department for Transport, Local Government and the Regions marked "Map of the City of Canterbury (Electoral Changes) Order 2001", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(4).

^{(1) 1992} c. 19.

⁽²⁾ The non-metropolitan district of Canterbury has the status of a city.

⁽³⁾ Section 17 is amended by section 39(4) and (5) of the Police Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29).

⁽⁴⁾ S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

Wards of the city of Canterbury

- **2.**—(1) The existing wards of the city(**5**) shall be abolished.
- (2) The city shall be divided into twenty-four wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 1.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of that Schedule by reference to parishes or, where an area is not so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of that Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature

Elections of the council of Canterbury

- **3.**—(1) The ordinary elections of all councillors of the city of Canterbury shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of non-metropolitan district councillors in 2003(6) and every fourth year after 2003.
- (2) The term of office of councillors shall be four years; and all councillors shall retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in the year of retirement and the newly-elected councillors shall come into office on the day on which their predecessors retire.

Wards of the parish of Chartham

4. The parish of Chartham shall be divided into two parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 2; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the city ward specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule, and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be the number specified in respect of the parish ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

Wards of the parish of Sturry

- **5.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Sturry shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into three parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 3; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the city ward specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule, and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be the number specified in respect of the parish ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

Revocation

6. The City of Canterbury (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976 is hereby revoked.

⁽⁵⁾ See the City of Canterbury (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976 (S.I. 1976/1692) as amended by the Kent (District Boundaries) Order 1987 (S.I. 1987/305).

⁽⁶⁾ For the ordinary day of election of councillors of local government areas, see section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50) and section 17 of, and paragraphs 1 and 5 of Schedule 3 to, the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c. 29).

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for Transport, Local Government and the Regions

Alan Whitehead
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State,
Department for Transport, Local Government
and the Regions

1st November 2001

SCHEDULE 1 article 2

NAMES AND AREAS OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of Ward	Area of Ward	Number of Councillors
Barham Downs	The parishes of Adisham, Barham, Kingston and Womenswold	1
Barton		3
Blean Forest		2
Chartham and Stone Street		2
Chestfield and Swalecliffe		3
Gorrell		2
Greenhill and Eddington		2
Harbledown		1
Harbour		2
Herne and Broomfield		3
Heron		3
Little Stour		1
Marshside		1
Northgate		2
North Nailbourne	The parishes of Bekesbourne- with-Patrixbourne, Bishopsbourne and Bridge	1
Reculver		3
St Stephens		3
Seasalter		3
Sturry North		1
Sturry South		1
Tankerton		2
West Bay		2
Westgate		3
Wincheap		3

SCHEDULE 2 article 4

WARDS OF THE PARISH OF CHARTHAM

NAMES AND AREAS OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1) Name of Ward	(2) Area of Ward	(3) Number of Councillors
Chartham	So much of the city ward of Chartham and Stone Street as comprises part of the parish of Chartham	9
Chartham Hatch	So much of the city ward of Harbledown as comprises part of the parish of Chartham	2

SCHEDULE 3

article 5

WARDS OF THE PARISH OF STURRY

NAMES AND AREAS OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of Ward	Area of Ward	Number of Councillors
Hersden	So much of the city ward of Marshside as comprises part of the parish of Sturry	3
North	The Sturry North city ward	4
South	The Sturry South city ward	4

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the city of Canterbury. The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after 1st May 2003.

Article 2 abolishes the existing wards of the city and provides for the creation of 24 new wards. That article and Schedule 1 also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Article 3 provides for the election of all councillors of the city of Canterbury to take place in 2003 and every 4 years after that year.

Articles 4 and 5 make electoral changes in the parishes of Chartham and Sturry.

Article 6 revokes the City of Canterbury (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976.

The areas of the new city wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of Canterbury City Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for Transport, Local Government and the Regions, 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.