## STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 2001 No. 4068

## The District of South Bedfordshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2001

## **Parish Elections**

- **8.**—(1) Elections of all parish councillors for the parishes of Caddington, Eaton Bray and Hyde shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2002 and every fourth year after 2002.
- (2) Elections of all parish councillors for the parishes of Chalgrave and Eggington shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2002, 2004 and every fourth year after 2004.
- (3) The ordinary elections of parish councillors for the parishes of Hockliffe, Studham and Whipsnade in 2002 shall not take place; and any such parish councillor holding office immediately before 6th May 2002 who would, but for this paragraph, have retired on that date shall, unless he resigns his office or it otherwise becomes vacant, continue to hold office until the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2003.
- (4) Elections of all parish councillors for the parishes of Great Billington, Chalton, Stanbridge, Streatley, Sundon, Tilsworth, Toddington and Totternhoe shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2004 and every fourth year after 2004.
- (5) The ordinary elections of parish councillors for the parish of Slip End in 2005 shall not take place; and any such parish councillor holding office immediately before 5th May 2005 who would, but for this paragraph, have retired on that date shall, unless he resigns his office or it otherwise becomes vacant, continue to hold office until the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2006.
- (6) Elections of all parish councillors for the parishes of Hockliffe, Studham and Whipsnade shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2003 and every fourth year after 2003.
- (7) Elections of all parish councillors for the parish of Slip End shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2006 and every fourth year after 2006.
- (8) The term of office of every councillor elected, in accordance with the provisions of paragraph (2), in 2002, shall be two years; and each such councillor shall, unless he resigns his office or it otherwise becomes vacant, continue to hold office until the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2004.
- (9) The term of office of parish councillors elected in accordance with any of paragraphs (1), (4), (6) and (7) above shall be four years; and they shall retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in the year of retirement and the newly-elected councillors shall come into office on the day on which their predecessors retire.
- (10) Rule 8 of the Local Elections (Parishes and Communities) Rules 1986(1) (filling of casual vacancies) shall have effect, in the case of a casual vacancy occurring before 5th May 2003 in the office of a parish councillor for the parishes of Hockliffe, Studham and Whipsnade as if the

**Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

references in paragraphs (1) and (4) of that rule to the day on which that councillor would regularly have retired were a reference to 5th May 2003.

(11) Rule 8 of the Local Elections (Parishes and Communities) Rules 1986 (filling of casual vacancies) shall have effect, in the case of a casual vacancy occurring before 8th May 2006 in the office of a parish councillor for the parish of Slip End as if the references in paragraphs (1) and (4) of that rule to the day on which that councillor would regularly have retired were a reference to 8th May 2006.