## **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect, subject to modifications, to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the district of South Bedfordshire. The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after 2nd May 2002.

The modifications relate to a ward name change and the number of parish councillors for the parish of Great Billington. The Secretary of State has decided that the ward name "Caddington and Slip End" recommended by the Local Government Commission be changed to "Caddington, Hyde and Slip End". The Secretary of State has also decided the parish of Great Billington should have 14 parish councillors instead of 10.

Article 2 abolishes the existing wards of the district and provides for the creation of 23 new wards. That article and Schedule 1 also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Article 3 makes provision for a whole council election in 2002 and for reversion to elections by thirds in subsequent years. Schedule 2 regulates the order of retirement of councillors.

Articles 4 to 7 makes electoral changes in the parishes of Great Billington, Dunstable, Houghton Regis and Leighton-Linslade.

Article 8 provides for elections of parish councillors for parishes of the district.

Article 9 revokes the District of South Bedfordshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1975.

The areas of the new district wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of South Bedfordshire District Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for Transport, Local Government and the Regions, 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.