EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect, with modifications to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the district of Wycombe. The recommendations were submitted to the Secretary of State, but the functions of the Secretary of State under sections 13 to 15 and 17 of the Local Government Act 1992 so far as they relate to electoral changes were transferred with modifications to the Electoral Commission under the Local Government Commission for England (Transfer of Functions) Order 2001 (S.I.2001/3962), with effect from 1st April 2002. That Order provides that recommendations submitted to the Secretary of State before 1st April would have effect as if they had been submitted to the Electoral Commission.

The modifications relate to the boundaries between the Bowerdean and Totteridge district wards, and between the Disraeli, and Downley and Plomer Hill district wards.

The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after 1st May 2003

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the district and provides for the creation of 28 new wards. That article and the Schedule also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Articles 4 to 6 make electoral changes in the parishes of Chepping Wycombe, Hazlemere and Marlow.

Article 8 obliges the Electoral Registration Officer to make any necessary amendments to the electoral register to reflect the new electoral arrangements.

Article 9 revokes the District of Wycombe (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1980 (S.I. 1980/842), with the exception of article 8.

The areas of the new district and parish wards are demarcated on the map described in article 2. Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of Wycombe District Council and at the principal office of the Electoral Commission at Trevelyan House, 30 Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW.