STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2002 No. 2371

The Borough of Bracknell Forest (Electoral Changes) Order 2002

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Borough of Bracknell Forest (Electoral Changes) Order 2002.
 - (2) This Order shall come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on lst May 2003, on the day after that on which it is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on 1st May 2003.

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"borough" means the borough of Bracknell Forest;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made;

any reference to the map is a reference to the map marked "Map referred to in the Borough of Bracknell Forest (Electoral Changes) Order 2002", of which prints are available for inspection at—

- (a) the principal office of the Electoral Commission; and
- (b) the offices of Bracknell Forest Borough Council; and

any reference to a numbered sheet is a reference to the sheet of the map which bears that number.

Wards of the borough of Bracknell Forest

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the borough(1) shall be abolished.
- (2) The borough shall be divided into eighteen wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 1.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (2) of that Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Bracknell

4.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Bracknell shall be abolished.

- (2) The parish shall be divided into twelve parish wards which shall bear the names Birch Hill, Bullbrook, Crown Wood, Garth, Great Hollands North, Great Hollands South, Hanworth, Harmans Water, Old Bracknell, Priestwood, Town Centre and Wildridings; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheet 4 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
- (3) The number of councillors to be elected for the Town Centre parish ward shall be one, for each of the Birch Hill, Crown Wood, Garth, Great Hollands North, Hanworth, Priestwood and Wildridings parish wards shall be two, and for each of the Bullbrook, Great Hollands South, Harmans Water and Old Bracknell parish wards shall be three.

Wards of the parish of Crowthorne

- **5.**—(1) The parish of Crowthorne shall be divided into two parish wards which shall bear the names Crowthorne and Crowthorne South; the Crowthorne parish ward shall comprise the area of the borough ward bearing the same name and the Crowthorne South parish ward shall consist of the rest of the parish.
- (2) The number of councillors elected for the Crowthorne South parish ward shall be two, and for the Crowthorne parish ward shall be eight.

Wards of the parish of Sandhurst

- **6.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Sandhurst shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into four parish wards which shall bear the names Central Sandhurst, College Town, Little Sandhurst and Owlsmoor; the Central Sandhurst, College Town and Owlsmoor parish wards shall comprise the area of the borough ward bearing the same name and the Little Sandhurst parish ward shall consist of the rest of the parish. The number of parish councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be six.

Wards of the parish of Warfield

- 7.—(1) The parish of Warfield shall be divided into four parish wards which shall bear the names Quelm, St Michael's, Warfield Park and Whitegrove; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheet 4 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for the St Michael's parish ward shall be one, for the Warfield Park parish ward shall be two, for the Quelm parish ward shall be three, and for the Whitegrove parish ward shall be seven.

Wards of the parish of Winkfield

- **8.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Winkfield shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into four parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 2; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the borough ward specified in respect of the parish ward set out in column (2) of that Schedule, and the number of parish councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be the number specified in respect of the parish ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

Maps

9. Bracknell Forest Borough Council shall make a print of the map marked "Map referred to in the Borough of Bracknell Forest (Electoral Changes) Order 2002" available for inspection at its offices by any member of the public at any reasonable time.

Electoral Registers

10. The Electoral Registration Officer(2) for the borough shall make such rearrangement of, or adaptation of, the register of local government electors as may be necessary for the purposes of, and in consequence of, this Order.

Revocation

11. The District of Bracknell (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977(**3**) is revoked, save for article 5.

Signed by the members of the Electoral Commission

11th September 2002	Pamela Gordon Commissioner
11th September 2002	Glyn Mathias Commissioner
11th September 2002	Neil McIntosh Commissioner
11th September 2002	Karamjit Singh Commissioner
11th September 2002	Sam Younger Commissioner
11th September 2002	Graham Zellick Commissioner

⁽²⁾ As to electoral registration officers and the register of local government electors, see sections 8 to 13 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2).

⁽³⁾ S.I. 1977/1273.