#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 2002 No. 2598

# The District of North West Leicestershire (Electoral Changes) Order 2002

#### Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the District of North West Leicestershire (Electoral Changes) Order 2002.
  - (2) This Order shall come into force—
    - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on 1st May 2003, on the day after that on which it is made;
    - (b) for all other purposes, on 1st May 2003.

# Interpretation

- 2. In this Order—
  - "district" means the district of North West Leicestershire;
- "existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made; and any reference to the map is a reference to the map marked "Map referred to in the District of North West Leicestershire (Electoral Changes) Order 2002", of which prints are available for inspection at—
  - (a) the principal office of the Electoral Commission; and
  - (b) the offices of North West Leicestershire District Council.

#### Wards of the district of North West Leicestershire

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district(1) shall be abolished.
- (2) The district shall be divided into twenty wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 1.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of that Schedule by reference to parishes and parish wards or, where an area is not so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of that Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

# Wards of the parish of Ashby-de-la-Zouch

**4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Ashby-de-la-Zouch shall be abolished.

<sup>(1)</sup> See the District of North West Leicestershire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1980 (S.I.1980/778).

(2) The parish shall be divided into four parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 2; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule, and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be the number specified in respect of the parish ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

# Wards of the parish of Ravenstone with Snibston

5. The parish of Ravenstone with Snibston shall be divided into two parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 3; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule, and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be the number specified in respect of the parish ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

# Numbers of parish councillors

**6.** The number of parish councillors to be elected for the parish of Worthington shall be five; the number of councillors to be elected for the Griffydam parish ward shall be one and for each of the Newbold and Worthington parish wards shall be two.

#### Maps

7. North West Leicestershire District Council shall make a print of the map marked "Map referred to in the District of North West Leicestershire (Electoral Changes) Order 2002" available for inspection at its offices by any member of the public at any reasonable time.

#### **Electoral registers**

**8.** The Electoral Registration Officer(2) for the district shall make such rearrangement of, or adaptation of, the register of local government electors as may be necessary for the purposes of, and in consequence of, this Order.

# Revocation

**9.** The District of North West Leicestershire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1980(**3**) is revoked, save for article 8.

Signed by the members of the Electoral Commission

4th October 2002 Pamela Gordon
Commissioner

4th October 2002 Glyn Mathias
Commissioner

<sup>(2)</sup> As to electoral registration officers and the register of local government electors, see sections 8 to 13 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2).

<sup>(</sup>**3**) S.I. 1980/778.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

| 4th October 2002  | Neil Mcintosh<br>Commissioner  |
|-------------------|--------------------------------|
| 4th October 2002  | Karamjit Singh<br>Commissioner |
| 4th October 2002  | Sam Younger<br>Commissioner    |
| 12th October 2002 | Graham Zellick<br>Commissioner |