#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 2002 No. 2885

# The District of Arun (Electoral Changes) Order 2002

#### Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the District of Arun (Electoral Changes) Order 2002.
- (2) This Order shall come into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on 1st May 2003, on the day after that on which it is made;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on 1st May 2003.

#### Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"district" means the district of Arun;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made;

any reference to the map is a reference to the map marked "Map referred to in the District of Arun (Electoral Changes) Order 2002", of which prints are available for inspection at—

- (a) the principal office of the Electoral Commission; and
- (b) the offices of Arun District Council.

## Wards of the district of Arun

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district(1) shall be abolished.
- (2) The district shall be divided into twenty-six wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 1.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of that Schedule by reference to parishes or, where an area is not so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of that Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

#### Wards of the parish of Aldwick

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Aldwick shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into three parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 2; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2); and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be the number specified in respect of the parish ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

#### Wards of the parish of Bognor Regis

- **5.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Bognor Regis shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into four parish wards which shall bear the names Hotham, Marine, Orchard and Pevensey; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward bearing the same name, and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be four.

#### Wards of the parish of Felpham

- **6.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Felpham shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into two parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 3; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2); and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be eight.

#### Wards of the parish of Littlehampton

- 7.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Littlehampton shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into five parish wards which shall bear the names Beach, Brookfield, Ham, River and Wick with Toddington; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward bearing the same name, and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be three.

## Wards of the parish of Rustington

- **8.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Rustington shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into three parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 4; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2); and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be the number specified in respect of the parish ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

#### Wards of the parish of Yapton

**9.** The parish shall be divided into two parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 5; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule, and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be the number specified in respect of the parish ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

#### Maps

**10.** Arun District Council shall make a print of the map marked "Map referred to in the District of Arun (Electoral Changes) Order 2002" available for inspection at its offices by any member of the public at any reasonable time.

## **Electoral registers**

11. The Electoral Registration Officer(2) for the district shall make such rearrangement of, or adaptation of, the register of local government electors as may be necessary for the purposes of, and in consequence of, this Order.

<sup>(2)</sup> As to electoral registration officers and the register of local government electors, *see* sections 8 to 13 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2).

## Revocation

12. The District of Arun (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1980(3) is revoked, save for article 8.

Signed by the members of the Electoral Commission

28th October 2002	Pamela Gordon Commissioner
14th November 2002	Glyn Mathias Commissioner
14th November 2002	Neil McIntosh Commissioner
19th November 2002	Karamjit Singh Commissioner
19th November 2002	Sam Younger Commissioner
28th October 2002	Graham Zellick Commissioner