#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 2002 No. 2886

# The Borough of Charnwood (Electoral Changes) Order 2002

#### Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Borough of Charnwood (Electoral Changes) Order 2002.
- (2) This Order shall come into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on 1st May 2003, on the day after that on which it is made;
  - (b) or all other purposes, on 1st May 2003.

## Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"borough" means the borough of Charnwood;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made;

any reference to the map is a reference to the map marked "Map referred to in the Borough of Charnwood (Electoral Changes) Order 2002", of which prints are available for inspection at—

- (a) the principal office of the Electoral Commission; and
- (b) the offices of Charnwood Borough Council; and

any reference to a numbered sheet is a reference to the sheet of the map which bears that number.

#### Wards of the borough of Charnwood

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the borough(1) shall be abolished.
- (2) The borough shall be divided into twenty-eight wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 1.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of that Schedule by reference to parishes and parish wards or, where an area is not so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of that Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

#### Wards of the parish of Mountsorrel

**4.** The parish of Mountsorrel shall be divided into two parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 2; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the borough ward specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule, and the number of councillors

to be elected for each parish ward shall be the number specified in respect of the parish ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

### Wards of the parish of Shepshed

- **5.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Shepshed shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into two parish wards which shall bear the names Shepshed East and Shepshed West; and each parish ward shall comprise the area of the borough ward bearing the same name, and the number of councillors to be elected for the Shepshed East parish ward shall be seven and for the Shepshed West parish ward shall be eight.

## Wards of the parish of Sileby

- **6.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Sileby shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into three parish wards which shall bear the names Sileby St Gregory's, Sileby St Mary's and Sileby West; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheet 4 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
- (3) The number of councillors to be elected for the Sileby St Gregory's parish ward shall be eight, for the Sileby St Mary's parish ward shall be six and for the Sileby West parish ward shall be one.

#### Wards of the parish of Syston

- 7.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Syston shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into four parish wards which shall bear the names Merton, New Barkby, St Peter's East and St Peter's West; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheet 4 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
  - (3) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be five.

# Numbers of parish councillors in the parish of Thurmaston

**8.** The number of parish councillors to be elected for the parish of Thurmaston shall be nineteen; the number of councillors to be elected for the Central parish ward shall be five, for the East parish ward shall be seven, for the North parish ward shall be three and for the South parish ward shall be four.

## Maps

**9.** Charnwood Borough Council shall make a print of the map marked "Map referred to in the Borough of Charnwood (Electoral Changes) Order 2002" available for inspection at its offices by any member of the public at any reasonable time.

## **Electoral registers**

10. The Electoral Registration Officer(2) for the borough shall make such rearrangement of, or adaptation of, the register of local government electors as may be necessary for the purposes of, and in consequence of, this Order.

<sup>(2)</sup> As to electoral registration officers and the register of local government electors, *see* sections 8 to 13 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2).

# Revocation

11. The Borough of Charnwood (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1980(3) is revoked, save for article 8.

Signed by the members of the Electoral Commission

28th October 2002	Pamela Gordon Commissioner
14th November 2002	Glyn Mathias Commissioner
14th November 2002	Neil McIntosh Commissioner
19th November 2002	Karamjit Singh Commissioner
19th November 2002	Sam Younger Commissioner
28th October 2002	Graham Zellick Commissioner