## EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect, with one modification, to recommendations by the Boundary Committee for England, a committee of the Electoral Commission, for electoral changes in the district of Broadland. The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after 6th May 2004.

The modification relates to the boundary between Taverham North and Taverham South wards.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the district and provides for the creation of 14 new wards.

Article 4 makes provision for a whole council election in 2004 and for reversion to elections by thirds in subsequent years. Schedule 2 regulates the order of retirement of councillors.

Articles 5 to 9 make electoral changes in the parishes of Drayton, Hellesdon, Sprowston, Taverham and Thorpe St Andrew.

Article 10 provides for the election of certain parish councillors in the district.

Article 12 obliges the Electoral Registration Officer to make any necessary amendments to the electoral register to reflect the new electoral arrangements.

Article 13 revokes the District of Broadland (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977 (S.I.1977/1390), with the exception of articles 5 and 6.

The areas of the new district wards are demarcated on the map described in article 3. Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of Broadland District Council and at the principal office of the Electoral Commission at Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW.