## **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect, with modifications, to recommendations by the Boundary Committee for England, a committee of the Electoral Commission, for electoral changes in the district of Bromsgrove.

The modifications concern the boundaries between the Charford and Stoke Heath district wards, between the Furlongs and Woodvale district wards and between the Stoke Prior and Stoke Heath district wards.

The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after 1st May 2003

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the district and provides for the creation of 23 new wards. That article and Schedule 1 also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Articles 4 to 9 make electoral changes in the parishes of Belbroughton, Catshill and North Marlbrook, Lickey and Blackwell, Lickey End, Stoke Prior and Wythall.

Article 11 obliges the Electoral Registration Officer to make any necessary amendments to the electoral register to reflect the new electoral arrangements.

Article 12 revokes the District of Bromsgrove (Electoral Arrangments) Order 1977 (S.I.1977/1277), with the exception of article 8, and the District of Bromsgrove (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1995 (S.I. 1995/44).

The areas of the new district and parish wards are demarcated on the map described in article 2. Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of Bromsgrove District Council and at the principal office of the Electoral Commission at Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW.