STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2003 No. 1909

BETTING, GAMING AND LOTTERIES

The Horserace Betting Levy (Bookmakers' Committee) Regulations 2003

 Made
 17th July 2003

 Coming into force
 28th July 2003

The Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred upon her by section 26(1) of the Betting, Gaming and Lotteries Act 1963 (1), and after consultation with such bodies as appear to her to be representative of the interests of bookmakers generally, hereby makes the following Regulations:

- **1.** These Regulations may be cited as the Horserace Betting Levy (Bookmakers' Committee) Regulations 2003 and shall come into force on 28th July 2003.
 - 2. The Bookmakers' Committee shall consist of thirteen members of whom—
 - (a) two shall be appointed by Coral Racing Ltd;
 - (b) two shall be appointed by Ladbroke Racing Ltd;
 - (c) two shall be appointed by William Hill Organisation Ltd;
 - (d) two shall be appointed by the National Association of Bookmakers Ltd from amongst persons nominated for the purpose by associations for the time being affiliated to the National Association of Bookmakers Ltd;
 - (e) four shall be appointed by the Association of British Bookmakers Ltd to represent the interests of the members of that body other than those listed in paragraphs (a) to (c) above; and
 - (f) one shall be appointed by the Sporting Exchange Ltd.
- **3.** The appointment of the Committee shall be for a term of three years, but a person ceasing to be a member on the expiry of his term of office shall not on that account be ineligible for reappointment.
- **4.** A person may be removed at any time from membership of the Committee by the body by which he was appointed.
- **5.** Where any vacancy occurs in the membership of the Committee, the body by which the person whose office has been vacated was appointed shall, as soon as practicable, make a fresh appointment to the Committee (that is to say an appointment for a term of three years).

- **6.** The members of the Committee shall appoint one of their number to be the chairman of the Committee and, subject to his remaining a member of the Committee, he shall hold office as chairman for such period as they may determine and shall be eligible for reappointment as such.
- 7. Seven members present (or such larger number of members as the Committee may from time to time determine) shall be a quorum at any meeting of the Committee.
- **8.** The Horserace Betting Levy (Bookmakers' Committee) Regulations 1999(2) are hereby revoked.

17th July 2003

Richard Caborn
Minister of State,
Department for Media, Culture and Sport

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Regulations)

These Regulations make new provision for the constitution of the Bookmakers' Committee under section 26 of the Betting, Gaming and Lotteries Act 1963.