STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2003 No. 2040

LAND REGISTRATION, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Land Registration (Proper Office) Order 2003

Made - - - - 2nd August 2003

Laid before Parliament 7th August 2003

Coming into force - 13th October 2003

The Lord Chancellor, in exercise of the power conferred on him by section 100(3) of the Land Registration Act 2002(1), hereby makes the following Order—

Citation and commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the Land Registration (Proper Office) Order 2003 and shall come into force on 13th October 2003.

Applications to which this Order applies

- **2.**—(1) This Order applies to any application to the registrar except an application delivered to the registrar—
 - (a) in accordance with a written arrangement as to delivery made between the registrar and the applicant or between the registrar and the applicant's conveyancer, or
 - (b) under the provisions of any relevant notice given under Schedule 2 to the Land Registration Rules 2003(2).
 - (2) In this article "conveyancer" means—
 - (a) a solicitor, or
 - (b) a licensed conveyancer within the meaning of section 11(2) of the Administration of Justice Act 1985(3), or
 - (c) a fellow of the Institute of Legal Executives.

Designation of the proper office

3. The proper office for the receipt of an application to which this Order applies is any office of the land registry specified in column 1 of the Schedule which is opposite an administrative area

^{(1) 2002} c. 9.

⁽²⁾ S.I.2003/1417.

^{(3) 1985} c. 51.

shown in column 2 of the Schedule in which the land to which that application relates is wholly or partly situated.

Signed by authority of the Lord Chancellor

David Lammy
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State,
Department for Constitutional Affairs

2nd August 2003

SCHEDULE

Article 3

Column 1 Office of the land registry	Column 2 Administrative Area
Office of the land registry Land Registry, Birkenhead (Old Market) Office	
	Staffordshire
	Stoke-on-Trent
Land Registry, Birkenhead (Rosebrae) Office	Cheshire
	Halton
	Hammersmith and Fulham
	Kensington and Chelsea
	Warrington
Land Registry, Coventry Office	West Midlands
	Worcestershire
Land Registry, Croydon Office	Bexley
	Bromley
	Croydon
	Kingston upon Thames
	Merton
	Sutton
Land Registry, Durham (Boldon) Office	Cumbria
	Surrey
Land Registry, Durham (Southfield) Office	Darlington
	Durham
	Hartlepool
	Middlesbrough
	Northumberland
	Redcar and Cleveland
	Stockton-on-Tees
	Tyne and Wear

Column 1	Column 2
Office of the land registry	Administrative Area
Land Registry, Gloucester Office	Bracknell Forest
	Bristol
	Gloucestershire
	Oxfordshire
	Reading
	Slough
	South Gloucestershire
	Warwickshire
	West Berkshire
	Windsor and Maidenhead
	Wokingham
Land Registry, Harrow Office	Brent
	Camden
	City of Westminster
	The City of London
	Harrow
	Islington
	The Inner Temple and the Middle Temple
Land Registry, Kingston Upon Hull Office	Kingston upon Hull
	Lincolnshire
	Norfolk
	North East Lincolnshire
	North Lincolnshire
	Suffolk
Land Registry, Lancashire	Blackburn with Darwen
	Blackpool

Column 1	Column 2
Column 1 Office of the land registry	Column 2 Administrative Area
Office of the land registry	Lancashire
Land Registry, Leicester Office	Buckinghamshire
	Leicester
	Leicestershire
	Milton Keynes
	Northamptonshire
	Rutland
Land Registry, Lytham Office	Greater Manchester
Land Registry, Nottingham (East) Office	Nottingham
	Nottinghamshire
	South Yorkshire
Land Registry, Nottingham (West) Office	Derby
	Derbyshire
	West Yorkshire
Land Registry, Peterborough Office	Bedfordshire
	Cambridgeshire
	Essex
	Luton
	Peterborough
	Southend-on-Sea
	Thurrock
Land Registry, Plymouth Office	Bath and North East Somerset
	Cornwall
	Devon
	Isles of Scilly
	North Somerset
	Plymouth

Column 1	Column 2
Office of the land registry	Administrative Area
	Somerset: Sedgemoor Taunton Deane West Somerset
	Torbay
Land Registry, Portsmouth Office	Brighton and Hove
	East Sussex
	Hampshire: East Hampshire Havant
	Isle of Wight
	Portsmouth
	West Sussex
Land Registry, Stevenage Office	Barking and Dagenham
	Hackney
	Havering
	Hertfordshire
	Newham
	Redbridge
	Tower Hamlets
	Waltham Forest
Land Registry, Swansea Office	Barnet
Cofrestrfa Tir Swyddfa	Ealing
Abertawe	Enfield
	Harringey
	Hillingdon
	Hounslow
Land Registry, Telford Office	Greenwich
	Herefordshire

Column 1	Column 2
Office of the land registry	Administrative Area
	Lambeth
	Lewisham
	Richmond upon Thames
	Shropshire
	Southwark
	The Wrekin
	Wandsworth
Land Registry, Tunbridge Wells Office	Kent
	Medway
Land Registry, Wales Office	All counties and county boroughs in Wales
Cofrestrfa Tir Swyddfa Cymru	
Land Registry, Weymouth Office	Bournemouth
	Dorset
	Hampshire: Basingstoke & Deane Eastleigh Fareham Gosport Hart New Forest Rushmoor Test Valley Winchester
	Poole
	Somerset: Mendip South Somerset
	Southampton
	Swindon
	Wiltshire
Land Registry, York Office	East Riding of Yorkshire
	North Yorkshire

Column 1	Column 2	
Office of the land registry	Administrative Area	
	York	

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order designates particular offices of the land registry as the proper office for the receipt of specified descriptions of application under the Land Registration Act 2002 (2002 c. 9).