# STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 2003 No. 2508

# The Borough of Solihull (Electoral Changes) Order 2003

# **Citation and commencement**

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Borough of Solihull (Electoral Changes) Order 2003.

(2) This Order, with the exception of articles 5 and 7, shall come into force —

- (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on the ordinary day of elections in 2004, on 15th October 2003;
- (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of elections in 2004.

(3) Articles 5 and 7 shall come into force —

- (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or related to any election to be held on the ordinary day of elections in 2007, on 15th October 2006;
- (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of elections in 2007.

# Interpretation

2. In this Order —

"borough" means the borough of Solihull;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made;

any reference to the map is a reference to the map marked "Map referred to in the Borough of Solihull (Electoral Changes) Order 2003", of which prints are available for inspection at —

- (a) the principal office of the Electoral Commission; and
- (b) the offices of Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council; and

any reference to a numbered sheet is a reference to the sheet of the map which bears that number.

# Wards of the borough of Solihull

**3.**—(1) The existing wards of the borough(1) shall be abolished.

(2) The borough shall be divided into seventeen wards which shall bear the names set out in Schedule 1.

(3) The wards shall comprise the areas designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be three.

(4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

(1) See the Borough of Solihull (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978 (S.I.1978/1606).

#### Elections of the council of the borough of Solihull

**4.**—(1) Elections of all councillors for all wards of the borough shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2004(2)(3).

(2) The councillors holding office for any ward of the borough immediately before the ordinary day of elections in 2004 shall retire on that date and the newly elected councillors for those wards shall come into office on that date.

(3) Of the councillors elected in 2004 one shall retire in 2006, one in 2007 and one in 2008.

- (4) Of the councillors elected in 2004
  - (a) the first to retire shall, subject to paragraphs (6) and (7), be the councillor elected by the smallest number of votes; and
  - (b) the second to retire shall, subject to those paragraphs, be the councillor elected by the next smallest number of votes.

(5) In the case of an equality of votes between any persons elected which makes it uncertain which of them is to retire in any year, the person to retire in that year shall be determined by lot.

(6) If an election of councillors for any ward is not contested, the person to retire in each year shall be determined by lot.

(7) Where under this article any question is to be determined by lot, the lot shall be drawn at the next practicable meeting of the council after the question has arisen and the drawing shall be conducted under the direction of the person presiding at the meeting.

# Wards of the parish of Balsall

5.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Balsall shall be abolished.

(2) The parish of Balsall shall be divided into two parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 2; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the borough ward specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule, and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be the number specified in respect of the parish ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

#### Wards of the parish of Hockley Heath

**6.**—(1) The parish of Hockley Heath shall be divided into four parish wards which shall bear the names Cheswick Green, Dickens Heath, Hockley Heath Village and Tidbury Green; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheet 4 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.

(2) The number of councillors to be elected for the parish wards of Cheswick Green and Dickens Heath shall be four, for the parish ward of Hockley Heath Village shall be three, and for the parish ward of Tidbury Green shall be two.

#### Wards of the parish of Kingshurst

7.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Kingshurst shall be abolished.

(2) The parish shall be divided into two parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 3; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the borough ward specified in respect

<sup>(2)</sup> Article 4 provides for a single election of all the councillors and for reversion to the system of election by thirds, as established by section 7 of the Local Government Act 1972 (c. 70).

<sup>(3)</sup> For the ordinary day of election of councillors of local government areas, see section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50) and section 17 of, and paragraphs 1 and 5 of Schedule 3 to, the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c. 29).

of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule, and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be the number specified in respect of the parish ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

### **Parish elections**

**8.**—(1) The term of office of every parish councillor elected on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2003 for the parish of Hockley Heath shall be one year.

(2) Elections of all parish councillors for the parish of Hockley Heath shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of elections in 2004, 2007 and every fourth year after 2007.

(3) In the case of those parish councillors elected in accordance with paragraph (2) above, the term of office of all those elected in 2004 shall be three years, and the term of office of all those elected in 2007 and every fourth year after 2007 shall be four years; and they shall retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in the year of retirement and the newly elected councillors shall come into office on the day their predecessors retire.

### Maps

**9.** Solihull Borough Council shall make a print of the map marked "Map referred to in the Borough of Solihull (Electoral Changes) Order 2003" available for inspection at its offices by any member of the public at any reasonable time.

#### **Electoral registers**

10. The Electoral Registration Officer(4) for the borough shall make such rearrangement of, or adaptation of, the register of local government electors as may be necessary for the purposes of, and in consequence of, this Order.

#### Revocation

The Borough of Solihull (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978(5) is revoked, save for article 8.

Sealed with the seal of the Electoral Commission on the 29th day of September 2003

L.S.

29th September 2003

Sam Younger Chairman of the Commission

29th September 2003

*Jacqui Dixon* Secretary to the Commission