EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect, with three modifications, to recommendations by the Boundary Committee for England, a committee of the Electoral Commission, for electoral changes in the borough of Rotherham.

The modifications concern the boundary between Hoober and Wath borough wards and the names of Hellaby and Wickersley borough wards.

The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2004.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the borough and provides for the creation of 21 new wards. That article and Schedule 1 also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Article 4 makes provision for a whole council election in 2004 and for reversion to the established system of election by thirds in subsequent years.

Articles 5 to 11 make electoral changes in the parishes of Aston cum Aughton, Bramley, Dalton, Maltby, Thrybergh, Thurcroft and Wickersley.

Article 13 obliges the Electoral Registration Officer to make any necessary amendments to the electoral register to reflect the new electoral arrangements.

Article 14 revokes the Borough of Rotherham (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1979, with the exception of articles 8 and 9(7).

The areas of the new borough and parish wards are demarcated on the map described in article 2. Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of Rotherham Borough Council and at the principal office of the Electoral Commission at Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW.